Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

General interest

This subject category includes databases are either basic or broad in scope. They include resources that cover multiple subject areas, such as general purpose encyclopedias, large article indexing databases, or newspaper article indexing databases.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
FDsys
    FDSys
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

FDSys

FDsys provides free access to federal government publications. It indexes the full text (in HTML and PDF) of congressional, executive departments and agencies, and Supreme Court documents. 1907-present.

Full record

Jul 21, 2011
Factiva
    Factiva
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Factiva

Factiva provides full-text news articles and business/industry information from newswires, newspapers, business and industry magazines, television and radio transcripts, financial reports, and photos from news services. Most content is HTML, though other formats are available for export. News sources 1979-present; financial data 1960s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000104
Federal & State Cases from LexisNexis
    LexisNexis
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Federal & State Cases from LexisNexis

Part of the legal section of LexisNexis Academic, Federal & State Cases allows searching of U.S. federal and state court cases by legal citation, topic, location, people, and time period. Cases present background information, summaries, opinions, and decisions with additional data supplied by LexisNexis to interpret the cases. 1750s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000260
Federal & State Codes from LexisNexis
    LexisNexis
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Federal & State Codes from LexisNexis

Full text access to U.S. federal codes, the constitution, the Code of Federal Regulations, and the Federal Register including annotations and summaries.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000260
Federal Register from FDsys
    FDSys
This resource is freely accessible

Federal Register from FDsys

The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. Documents are available in Summary, PDF, ASCII text, or HTML format. 1994-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000253
FirstSearch databases
    WorldCat Discovery
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

FirstSearch databases

Over 20 databases on all subject areas, included individually by their titles in this list.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Flickr Commons
    Flickr Image Commons
This resource is freely accessible

Flickr Commons

Search and annotate public photography archives from institutions such as Library of Congress, Brooklyn Museum, Smithsonian Institution, George Eastman House, National Maritime Museum, Library of Virginia, Imperial War Museum, New York Public Library, DC Public Library Commons, and Field Museum Library. Participating cultural institutions have reasonably concluded that included photographs are free of copyright restrictions.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Foundation Directory Online from the Foundation Center
    Foundation Directory Online
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Foundation Directory Online

Search for information about over 100,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities, or for information about nearly half a million grants. Parent organization, Foundation Center, also provides extensive free, online information about funding and managing nonprofit organizations. 2001-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000217
Founders Online
    Founders Online
This resource is freely accessible

Founders Online

Founders Online provides full-text access to thousands of documents from George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, and James Madison including diaries and personal papers, letters and correspondence, and authored government reports.

Full record

Sep 18, 2010
Fuente Académica from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Fuente Académica from EBSCOhost

Fuente Académica is a collection of full-text, scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain, some back to volume one. Content is available as PDF. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1922-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000640