Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Social sciences and education

This subject category includes databases covering social sciences and human sciences, including anthropology, communication, education, history, human development, international studies, law, military science, political science, psychology, public administration, and sociology. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences, Architecture and Urban Studies, and the School of Education.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
FAO Catalogue Online
    FAO catalog
This resource is freely accessible

FAO Catalogue Online

The FAO catalog indexes documents published by FAO since 1945, books added to the FAO library since 1976, and journals held by the FAO library. Use interlibrary loan to obtain documents identified through this catalog.

Full record

May 3, 2013
FAO Corporate Document Repository
    Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

FAO Corporate Document Repository

The FAO Corporate Document Repository houses FAO documents and publications, as well as selected non-FAO publications, in electronic format. It enables users to easily access the accumulated knowledge and information produced by FAO directly on the Internet. 1990s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
FDsys
    FDSys
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

FDSys

FDsys provides free access to federal government publications. It indexes the full text (in HTML and PDF) of congressional, executive departments and agencies, and Supreme Court documents. 1907-present.

Full record

Jul 21, 2011
Family & Society Studies Worldwide from EBSCOHost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Family & Society Studies Worldwide from EBSCOHost

Family & Society Studies Worldwide indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles (PDFs) from journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, statistical documents, theses and dissertations, and other sources in the social sciences and education. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1900s-present. Limited to   simultaneous users.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000157
Family Studies Abstracts from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Family Studies Abstracts from EBSCOhost

Family Studies Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts of journal articles and book reviews on the social science aspects of families. 1930-present.    

Full record

Jun 19, 2015 e1001783
Federal & State Cases from LexisNexis
    LexisNexis
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Federal & State Cases from LexisNexis

Part of the legal section of LexisNexis Academic, Federal & State Cases allows searching of U.S. federal and state court cases by legal citation, topic, location, people, and time period. Cases present background information, summaries, opinions, and decisions with additional data supplied by LexisNexis to interpret the cases. 1750s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000260
Films on Demand
    Films on Demand
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link

Films on Demand

Films of Demand provides streaming videos on social science and life science topics. The videos use Flash for desktop computers and HTML5-compatible media for mobile devices. Streaming rights expire for content on this platform; see the Addison record for the individual films for expiration dates.  

Full record

Mar 20, 2014 e1001671
FinAid (Financial Aid Information Page)
    Financial Aid Network
This resource is freely accessible

FinAid (Financial Aid Information Page)

FinAid provides a free, comprehensive, independent, and objective guide to student financial aid. Included is a section on Graduate School funding.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
First World War: Personal Experiences from Adam Matthew
    First World War: Personal Experiences from Adam Matthew
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

First World War: Personal Experiences from Adam Matthew

This database is on trial through May 9, 2016. This database provides digitized primary source material on the lives of men and women during the First World War. Please provide feedback on this database.

Full record

Apr 10, 2016 e1001843
Foreign Office Files: China. 1938-1948 Open Door, Japanese war and the seeds of communist victory from Adam Matthew
    Foreign Office Files: China. 1938-1948 from Adam Matthew
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

Foreign Office Files: China. 1938-1948 Open Door, Japanese war and the seeds of communist victory from Adam Matthew

This database is on trial through May 9, 2016. This database provides digitized primary sources from British Foreign Office files, including reports on policy, industry, trade, and culture. Please provide feedback on this database.

Full record

Apr 10, 2016 e1001845
Foreign Office Files: Middle East, 1971-1974: The 1973 Arab-Israeli War and the Oil Crisis from Adam Matthew
    Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1981
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

Foreign Office Files: Middle East, 1971-1974: The 1973 Arab-Israeli War and the Oil Crisis from Adam Matthew

This database is on trial through May 9, 2016. This database provides digitized primary sources on events in the Middle East in the 70s. Please provide feedback on this database.

Full record

Apr 10, 2016 e1001844
Founders Online
    Founders Online
This resource is freely accessible

Founders Online

Founders Online provides full-text access to thousands of documents from George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, and James Madison including diaries and personal papers, letters and correspondence, and authored government reports.

Full record

Sep 18, 2010