Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Agricultural, biological, and medical sciences

This subject category includes databases covering the life sciences: agriculture, biology, and natural resources. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Agriculture & Life Sciences, Natural Resources, Science, and Veterinary Medicine.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
GENSAT Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

GENSAT Database from NLM

The GENSAT project aims to map the expression of genes in the central nervous system of the mouse, using both in situ hybridization and transgenic mouse techniques. The GENSAT database contains mouse brain images at several different developmental stages using both techniques, with a searchable set of gene expression annotations.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
GEO Datasets Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

GEO Datasets Database from NLM

Comparable experimental sample sets assembled from the Gene Expression Omnibus (GEO) repository. Format of datyasets includes gene expression microarray, ChIP-chip, ArrayCGH (Comparative Genomic Hybridization), SNP arrays, SAGE, MPSS, Next-generation sequence data, and protein arrays. Entrez GDS queries all GEO DataSet annotation, allowing identification of experiments of interest.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
GEO Profiles Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

GEO Profiles Database from NLM

This database stores individual gene expression profiles from curated DataSets in the Gene Expression Omnibus (GEO) repository. Search for specific profiles of interest based on gene annotation or pre-computed profile characteristics. GEO Profiles facilitates powerful searching and linking to additional information sources.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
GIS Bibliography from ESRI
    ESRI
This resource is freely accessible

GIS Bibliography from ESRI

This bibliography covers the literature of geographic information systems, science, and technology. It indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, theses, and reports from the origins of GIS to the present. 1950-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
GSS Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

GSS Database from NLM

The GSS database contains all records found within the Genome Survey Sequence (GSS) division of GenBank. GSS records contain first-pass single-read genomic sequences and rarely include annotated biological features.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Garden, Landscape, and Horticulture Index from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Garden, Landscape, and Horticulture Index from EBSCOhost

Garden, Landscape, and Horticulture Index indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text journal articles, conference proceedings, reviews, books, and recipes. Full text available in PDF and HTML. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1901-present.  

Full record

Apr 2, 2014 e10014135
Gene Database from NLM
    Entrez databases from NLM
This resource is freely accessible

Gene Database from NLM

The Gene Database organizes information about the characteristics and defining sequences of genes from species in Genome, RefSeq, and other model organisms.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Genetics Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Genetics Abstracts from ProQuest

Genetics Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journal article, conference papers, and books in biology and medicine aspects of genetics. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1982-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000046
Genome Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

Genome Database from NLM

The Genome Database provides views for a variety of genomes, complete chromosomes, sequence maps with contigs, and integrated genetic and physical maps. The database is organized in six major organism groups: Archaea, Bacteria, Eukaryotae, Viruses, Viroids, and Plasmids and includes complete chromosomes, organelles and plasmids as well as draft genome assemblies.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Genome Project Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

Genome Project Database from NLM

Genome Project is a collection of complete and incomplete large-scale sequencing, assembly, annotation, and mapping projects for cellular organisms. The database is organized into organism-specific overviews that function as portals from which all projects in the database pertaining to that organism can be browsed and retrieved.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Geodata.gov: U.S. maps & data
    GeoData.gov
This resource is freely accessible

Geodata.gov: U.S. maps & data

geodata.gov is a geographic information system (GIS) portal, also known as the Geospatial One-Stop (GOS), that serves as a public gateway for access to geospatial information and data. A catalog of geospatial information containing thousands of metadata records (information about the data) and links to live maps, features, and catalog services, downloadable data sets, images, clearinghouses, map files, and more.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Global Gateway: World Culture & Resources
    Global Gateway: World Culture & Resources
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Global Gateway: World Culture & Resources

Global Gateway provides access to bilingual, multimedia digital libraries from around the world, plus a listing of the searchable Library of Congress and other digital collections with a focus on history and culture from around the world. Some content is available in digitized full text.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
GreenFILE from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

GreenFILE from EBSCOhost

GreenFILE indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles, books, case studies, conference papers, speeches and interviews, letters, and reports overing all aspects of human impact to the environment including agricultural, architectural, engineering, education, and the social sciences. Full text is available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. Free access version is also available. 1913-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000674