Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Research starter

This list includes databases in which you can begin many research topics. It includes databases catering to all levels of user, not just undergraduates. Content of these databases can include reference sources like encyclopedias or dictionaries; articles that give an overview of a topic, issue, controversy, or recent event; or that provide broad coverage to assist in narrowing or refining a research topic. After you have used these databases for background research on your topic, you can move on to more subject-specific databases.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
GREENR (General Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources) from Gale
    GREENR
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

GREENR General Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources from Gale

GREENR indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, newspapers, magazines, book reviews, reference works, case studies, images, videos, and podcasts on the business, environmental, and science aspects of emerging green technologies and sustainability. Full text presented in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1864-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000757
Gale Biography in Context
    Gale Biography in Context
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

Gale Biography in Context

Biography in Context provides access to over 600,000 biographies in HTML sourced from reference works, news reports, magazines and academic journals. It provides links to related websites, images, audio, and video clips.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000903
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Gale Encyclopedia of American Law

The Gale Encyclopedia of American Law provides articles in HTML and PDF on all aspects of American law: legal terms and concepts, cases, people, entities, and events. In Focus essays accompany related entries and provide additional facts, details, and arguments on particularly interesting, important, or controversial issues raised by those entries. Details on landmark legal cases and several primary documents are also provided.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Gale Literature Databases
    Gale Literature Criticism Online
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Gale Literature Databases

Cross search both Something About The Author and Literature Criticism Online which includes Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, and Children's Literature Review. 1400s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000842
Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of searchable ebook reference works. You can search within a particular work or across the entire collection. Individual articles from these sources are presented in HTML and PDF. Illustrations, photos, maps, and multimedia content is often included.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Glossary of Geology from AGI
    Glossary of Geology from AGI
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Glossary of Geology from AGI

The Glossary of Geology allows searching and browsing of 39,000 entries covering geology, climatology, geologic engineering, geophysics, hydrology, mineralogy, paleontology, and soils.  

Full record

Sep 15, 2010 e1001208
Governments of the World: A Global Guide to Citizens' Rights and Responsibilities from Gale
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Governments of the World: A Global Guide to Citizens' Rights and Responsibilities from Gale

Governments of the World provides articles in HTML and PDF about governments, political issues, and citizen politics in 198 regions, including every independent nation of the world and several territories under the jurisdiction of sovereign countries, plus international courts and entities.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876