Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Engineering and physical sciences

This subject category includes databases covering engineering and the physical sciences: chemistry, geosciences, mathematics, physics, and statistics. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Engineering and Sciences.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Handbook of weather, climate, and water from Knovel
    Knovel
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Handbook of Weather, Climate, and Water from Knovel

The Handbook of Weather, Climate, and Water provides full-text chapters on topics that are essential for grasping the scientific bases of major issues such as global climate warming, the ozone hole, acid rain, floods, droughts, and other natural disasters. Each chapter is a separate PDF.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000002
Health and Environmental Research Online (HERO) from the EPA
    EPA HERO
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Health and Environmental Research Online (HERO) from the EPA

HERO contains the key studies EPA uses to develop environmental risk assessments for the public. HERO indexes citations, abstract, and some full text from journals, books, computer programs, conference papers, data sets, dissertations, laws and codes, magazines, newspapers, patents, reports, and standards. 1800s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Health and Safety Science Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Health & Safety Science Abstracts from ProQuest

Health & Safety Science Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, books, conference proceedings, government reports, and dissertations on the health and engineering aspects of safety science. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1981-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000047
Hindawi Open Access Journals
    Hindawi Open Access Journals
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Hindawi Open Access Journals

A collection of peer-reviewed, open access journals covering several areas in science, technology, and medicine. All articles published in Hindawi journals are open access and distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution License, which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly cited.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine from EBSCOhost

The History of Science, Technology, and Medicine database indexes citations and abstracts of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, maps, and other materials on the history of science, medicine, and technology. 1600s-present.  

Full record

Feb 20, 2013 e1001580
Household Products Database from the NLM
    US Dept of Health and Human Services
This resource is freely accessible

Household Products Database from the NLM

Links over 10,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provided by the manufacturers and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010