Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

General interest

This subject category includes databases are either basic or broad in scope. They include resources that cover multiple subject areas, such as general purpose encyclopedias, large article indexing databases, or newspaper article indexing databases.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
HarpWeek: The Civil War Era and Reconstruction I & II (1857-1877)
    Harp Week
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia

HarpWeek: The Civil War Era and Reconstruction I & II (1857-1877)

Browse, search, and retrieve full page images of Harper's Weekly, which chronicles the events of the American Civil War and reconstruction years. Page images are JPG; full text is HTML and PDF. Harper’s Weekly is a consistent, comprehensive, week-to-week chronological record of what happened worldwide in the last half of the nineteenth century.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000114
HathiTrust Digital Library
    Hathi Trust
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon Gold open access - publishing

HathiTrust Digital Library

The HathiTrust Digital Library contains over seven million volumes and over one billion pages of scanned books and other materials. About 20 percent of all content is in the public domain (and accessible to you). You can also browse several public collections. Content is available in several image formats, text, and PDF. 1200s-present.

Full record

Jun 15, 2012
HathiTrust Digital Library
    Hathi Trust
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon Gold open access - publishing

HathiTrust Digital Library

The HathiTrust Digital Library contains over seven million volumes and over one billion pages of scanned books and other materials. About 20 percent of all content is in the public domain (and accessible to you). You can also browse several public collections. Content is available in several image formats, text, and PDF. 1200s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Historical Newspapers from Chadwyck-Healey
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Historical Newspapers from Chadwyck-Healey

This database is on trial through November 30, 2012. Historical Newspapers indexes citations for The (London) Times and New York Times, and provides full text in HTML and PDF for The (London) Times. 1800-1980. Please provide feedback on this database to Purdom Lindblad or your college librarian.  

Full record

Oct 31, 2012 e1001500
Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition Online
    Historical Statistics of the US
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition Online

The Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS) Millennial Edition Online provides data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade - quantitative facts of American history. Data is available in HTML, PDF, and Excel.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000700
Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition and History (HEARTH) from Cornell University Library
    hearth
This resource is freely accessible

Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition and History (HEARTH) from Cornell University Library

HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in home economics and related disciplines. Content is full-text searchable and page-by-page viewable (as GIF, TIFF, PDF, and text). 1817-1997.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Homeland Security Digital Library - HSDL
    Homeland Security Digital Library
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Homeland Security Digital Library - HSDL

The HSDL is a collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources. These include federal, state, tribal, and local government agencies, professional organizations, think tanks, academic institutions, and international governing bodies. 1941-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (C19) from Chadwyck-Healey
    C19 The nineteenth centure index
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (C19) from Chadwyck-Healey

Index of bibliographic records to the papers issued by the House of Commons in all formats, including: Bills, Royal and Select Commission Reports, Accounts and Papers, and Command Papers. As the working documents of government, the parliamentary papers encompass all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed. Copies of most of these documents are available in microcard format in the British Sessional Papers (1801-1976) series.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000431