Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Social sciences and education

This subject category includes databases covering social sciences and human sciences, including anthropology, communication, education, history, human development, international studies, law, military science, political science, psychology, public administration, and sociology. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences, Architecture and Urban Studies, and the School of Education.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
HeinOnline
    Hein Online
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

HeinOnline

HeinOnline provides full-text PDF legal documents organized into libraries: Law Journals (ABA, Core, Criminal Justice, International, Intellectual Property), Legal Classics, United States Code, U.S. Statutes at Large, U.S Federal Legislative History, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, U.S. Presidential, Treaties and Agreements, Pentagon Papers, Manual of Patent Examining Procedure, World Constitutions Illustrated, and the European Center for Minority Issues. 1200s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000223
Historic Documents from CQ Press
    CQ Press
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Historic Documents from CQ Press

The Historic Documents Series now contains 38 volumes of primary sources. Each volume includes approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions. Content is available as HTML. 1972-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000787
Historical Abstracts from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Historical Abstracts from EBSCOhost

Historical Abstracts indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals, books, and dissertations that cover the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Full text available as HTML and PDF. The database allows limiting results to specific time periods (not just publication dates). You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1800s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000121
Historical Newspapers from Chadwyck-Healey
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Historical Newspapers from Chadwyck-Healey

This database is on trial through November 30, 2012. Historical Newspapers indexes citations for The (London) Times and New York Times, and provides full text in HTML and PDF for The (London) Times. 1800-1980. Please provide feedback on this database to Purdom Lindblad or your college librarian.  

Full record

Oct 31, 2012 e1001500
Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition Online
    Historical Statistics of the US
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition Online

The Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS) Millennial Edition Online provides data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade - quantitative facts of American history. Data is available in HTML, PDF, and Excel.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000700
History databases from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

History databases from ProQuest

This database indexes citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, conference papers, reference works, and dissertations (in full text PDFs) across multiple historical and primary source databases on the ProQuest platform. Use the Databases link at the top of the screen to change which databases are searched. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1681-present.  

Full record

Jun 28, 2012 e1001248
History encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

History Encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across 32 subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 100,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.

 

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition and History (HEARTH) from Cornell University Library
    hearth
This resource is freely accessible

Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition and History (HEARTH) from Cornell University Library

HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in home economics and related disciplines. Content is full-text searchable and page-by-page viewable (as GIF, TIFF, PDF, and text). 1817-1997.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Homeland Security Digital Library - HSDL
    Homeland Security Digital Library
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Homeland Security Digital Library - HSDL

The HSDL is a collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources. These include federal, state, tribal, and local government agencies, professional organizations, think tanks, academic institutions, and international governing bodies. 1941-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (C19) from Chadwyck-Healey
    C19 The nineteenth centure index
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (C19) from Chadwyck-Healey

Index of bibliographic records to the papers issued by the House of Commons in all formats, including: Bills, Royal and Select Commission Reports, Accounts and Papers, and Command Papers. As the working documents of government, the parliamentary papers encompass all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed. Copies of most of these documents are available in microcard format in the British Sessional Papers (1801-1976) series.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000431
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective from WilsonWeb
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective from EBSCOhost

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles in the humanities, social sciences, and some sciences. 1907-1984.  

Full record

Dec 19, 2011 e1000778