Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

General interest

This subject category includes databases are either basic or broad in scope. They include resources that cover multiple subject areas, such as general purpose encyclopedias, large article indexing databases, or newspaper article indexing databases.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
ICON (International Coalition on Newspapers) database
    Center for Research Libraries
This resource is freely accessible

ICON (International Coalition on Newspapers) database

ICON provides information on newspaper holding in libraries around the world: print, microforms, and scanned digital collections. Open online collections will include links to the source. (Physical newspapers in North American can have individual articles sent via interlibrary loan.) 1649-present.  

Full record

Dec 4, 2014 e1001741
ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
    ICPSR - InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is a membership-based organization providing access to the world's largest archive of computer-based research and instructional data for the social sciences. The archive of data sets includes a broad range of disciplines, including political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000238
INFOMINE Search Engine
    Infomine
This resource is freely accessible

InfoMine Search Engine

Virtual library of Internet resources relevant to faculty, students, and research staff at the university level. Contains useful Internet resources such as databases, electronic journals, electronic books, bulletin boards, mailing lists, online library card catalogs, articles, directories of researchers, and many other types of information.Each entry is annotated and indexed using both Library of Congress subject headings and relevant keywords. Covers all subject areas.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
ISI Highly Cited
    ISI Highly Cited
This resource is freely accessible

ISI Highly Cited

ISI Highly Cited identifies individuals, departments and laboratories that have made fundamental contributions to the advancement of science and technology in recent decades. It reveals the people behind the accomplishments in 21 broad subject categories in life sciences, medicine, physical sciences, engineering, and social sciences. 1981-2008.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003, from Gale
    Gale Illustrated News
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003, from Gale

The Illustrated London News Historical Archive indexes full-text articles from the paper as well as provides full page facsimiles (JPEG). Articles or pages can be exported as image-PDF, but no text version is available.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000858
ImageBase from Digital Libraries and Archives at Virginia Tech
    Imagebase
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

ImageBase from Digital Libraries and Archives at Virginia Tech

ImageBase is a browsable/searchable database of images and related information (metadata), retrievable by 19 fields including subject, title, and creator. Both small thumbnail images and larger full-screen images are available to the Virginia Tech community.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Index of Speeches from the United Nations
    UN Bibliographic Information System
This resource is freely accessible

Index of speeches from the United Nations

Citations to speeches made in the General Assembly beginning with its 38th session (1983-), the Security Council beginning with its 38th year (1983-), the Economic and Social Council beginning in 1983 and the Trusteeship Council beginning with its 15th special session (1982). Links to the full text of speeches in PDF are provided.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Internet Archive Open Library
    Internet Archive
This resource is freely accessible

Internet Archive Open Library

The Internet Archive Open Library is a catalog of book record, plus links to many freely available ebooks. Use it to identify books that may be in our local collection or requestable through interlibrary loan. You can also limit to ebooks, most of which are available in PDF and ePub formats.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010