Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Humanities and performing arts

This subject category includes databases covering humanities and performing arts. Use these databases for research and courses in the college of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences and the School of Performing Arts.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
IMDb International Movie Database
    IMDB
This resource is freely accessible

IMDb International Movie Database

IMDb is a comprehensive source of film and television data: people, technical details, summaries, financials, quotes, and reviews.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
IPA Source
    IPA
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

IPA Source

IPA Source is a library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Promotes the comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in art song and opera in order that the singer may imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content. At present, IPA Source offers works in Latin, Italian, German, and French. Transcriptions presented as PDFs. Includes mp3 recordings of some pronunciations. Limited to   simultaneous users.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000671
In the First Person from Alexander Street Press
    Alexander Street Press
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

In the First Person from Alexander Street Press

An index of letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies freely available on the web and Alexander Street Press. The search returns citation information and links to full text, audio, and video whenever available. Some indexed content is copyrighted and not available for free. 1558-1995.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Index Islamicus from Brill
    Brill Index Islamicus
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Index Islamicus from Brill

Index Islamicus provides citations of European language publications (journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, and book reviews) about Islam and the Muslim world. 1800s-present.

Full record

Apr 14, 2016 e1001866
Index to Printed Music from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Index to Printed Music from EBSCOhost

This database is on trial through April 30, 2016. IPM indexed citations to individual pieces of music published in scholarly editions, series, and sets. Includes citations from Ancient Greece to present. Links to full text are not provided. Please provide feedback on this database.  

Full record

Mar 31, 2016 e1000630
International Medieval Bibliography from Brepolis
    Brepolis
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

International Medieval Bibliography

IMB indexes citations for 365,000 articles from journals and conference proceedings relating to all aspects of the Middle Ages (300-1500 A.D.) in Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa. 1967-present. Limited to   simultaneous users.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000197
Iter Bibliography
    ITER
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Iter Bibliography

The Iter Bibliography includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). It indexes citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts, and discographies), as are citations for dissertation abstracts, and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, Festschriften, encyclopedias, and exhibition catalogues). Use the Check for full text link to connect to Get VText. 1784-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000729