Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Social sciences and education

This subject category includes databases covering social sciences and human sciences, including anthropology, communication, education, history, human development, international studies, law, military science, political science, psychology, public administration, and sociology. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences, Architecture and Urban Studies, and the School of Education.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
ICON (International Coalition on Newspapers) database
    Center for Research Libraries
This resource is freely accessible

ICON (International Coalition on Newspapers) database

ICON provides information on newspaper holding in libraries around the world: print, microforms, and scanned digital collections. Open online collections will include links to the source. (Physical newspapers in North American can have individual articles sent via interlibrary loan.) 1649-present.  

Full record

Dec 4, 2014 e1001741
ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
    ICPSR - InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is a membership-based organization providing access to the world's largest archive of computer-based research and instructional data for the social sciences. The archive of data sets includes a broad range of disciplines, including political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000238
In the First Person from Alexander Street Press
    Alexander Street Press
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

In the First Person from Alexander Street Press

An index of letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies freely available on the web and Alexander Street Press. The search returns citation information and links to full text, audio, and video whenever available. Some indexed content is copyrighted and not available for free. 1558-1995.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective from EBSCOhost

The Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective indexes citations to articles and summaries in annual surveys of laws and courts, legal journals, and legal yearbooks. 1908-1981.  

Full record

Dec 19, 2011 e1001016
Integrated Fertility Survey Series (IFSS) from ICPSR
    ICPSR - InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Integrated Fertility Survey Series (IFSS) from ICPSR

The Integrated Fertility Survey Series offers data and tools for examining issues related to families and fertility in the U.S. It encompasses the Growth of American Families, National Fertility Surveys, and National Surveys of Family Growth, as well as a single dataset of harmonized variables across all ten surveys. See the ICPSR page for more details on using these data sets. 1955-2002.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000238
International Data Resource Center (IDRC) from ICPSR
    ICPSR - InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

International Data Resource Center (IDRC) from ICPSR

IDRC acts as a clearinghouse for international data housed at ICPSR. Data sets can be downloaded (format varies by source). See the ICPSR page for details on using this data,  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000238
International Relations Security Network
    International Relations Security Network
This resource is freely accessible

International Relations Security Network

The International Relations Security Network provides full-text ebooks, working papers, government reports, journal articles, historic and contemporary primary source material, directories, news commentary and analysis, and policy briefs on all aspects of international relations. Full text provided in HTML and PDF. 1990s-present with some material from earlier centuries.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Iter Bibliography
    ITER
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Iter Bibliography

The Iter Bibliography includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). It indexes citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts, and discographies), as are citations for dissertation abstracts, and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, Festschriften, encyclopedias, and exhibition catalogues). Use the Check for full text link to connect to Get VText. 1784-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000729