Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

General interest

This subject category includes databases are either basic or broad in scope. They include resources that cover multiple subject areas, such as general purpose encyclopedias, large article indexing databases, or newspaper article indexing databases.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Leadership Federal Government
    Leadership Federal Government
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link

Leadership Federal Government

Leadership Federal Government provides access to a directory of contact information for federal agencies, employees, and decision makers, including phone and fax numbers, addresses, emails, and biographical information. It allows searching the online federal government contact directory by organization type, acronym or person and discover the depth of our federal government contact directory.  

Full record

Nov 30, 2011 e1001160
Legislative Information System from the Virginia General Assembly
    Legislative Information System
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Legislative Information System from the Virginia General Assembly

The Legislative Information System includes general information about the legislative process and its participants as well as the full text, summaries, status history of bills and resolutions and schedules of activity. Full text searching is also available for the Code of Virginia, Virginia Administrative Code, Bills and Resolutions, and House and Senate Documents.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000728
LexisNexis Academic
    LexisNexis
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

LexisNexis Academic

LexisNexis Academic is a collection of hundreds of databases covering topics such as news, business, legal research, people, and company information. The default start search form uses the Easy Search method in the General search tab. Select Power Search for more advanced search options. Use the Sources link to choose from individual databases. All content is full text in HTML. News sources 1977-present; legal source 1789-present.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000260
Library of Congress online catalog
    Library of Congress catalog
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Library of Congress online catalog

The Library of Congress Online Catalog contains approximately 14 million records representing books, serials, computer files, manuscripts, cartographic materials, music, sound recordings, and visual materials. The Catalog also displays searching aids for users, such as cross-references and scope notes. Items identified through this catalog can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Los Angeles Times from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Los Angeles Times from ProQuest Historical Newspapers

Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Individual articles available as PDFs. 1881-1986. Other date ranges.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000745