Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Languages and literatures

This subject category includes databases covering languages, linguistics, and literatures in English, foreign languages (especially languages taught by the Foreign Language department), and classics (Greek and Latin).

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Languages & Literature databases from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Languages & Literatures databases from ProQuest

This database indexes citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, conference papers, reference works, and dissertations (in full text PDFs) across multiple language literature, and primary source databases on the ProQuest platform. Use the Databases link at the top of the screen to change which databases are searched. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1681-present.  

Full record

Jun 28, 2012 e1001250
Linguistic Bibliography Online from Brill
    Linguistic Bibliography Online
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Linguistic Bibliography Online from Brill

Linguistic Bibliography Online indexes citations of journal articles and book chapters in linguistics. It includes publications from interdisciplinary fields, such as anthropology, psychology, sociology, philosophy and computer science and extensive coverage of non-Indo-European and lesser-known Indo-European languages. 1993-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000881
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts from ProQuest

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations in the field of linguistics and related language sciences. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1973-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000052
Literary Themes for Students: Race and Prejudice from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Literary Themes for Students: Race and Prejudice from Gale from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Literary Themes for Students: Race and Prejudice provides full-text essays in HTML and PDF on race and prejudice in literature.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Literary Themes for Students: The American Dream from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Literary Themes for Students: The American Dream from Gale from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Literary Themes for Students: The American Dream provides full-text essays on HTML and PDF on the theme of the American dream.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Literary Themes for Students: War and Peace from Gale from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Literary Themes for Students: War and Peace from Gale from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Literary Themes for Students: War and Peace provided full-text essays in HTML and PDF on the theme of war and peace in literature.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Literature Criticism Online from Gale
    Gale Literature Criticism Online
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Literature Criticism Online from Gale

Includes full text of three references works:Short Story Criticism: most-studied short story writers with a historical survey of the critical response to their work, Drama Criticism: for each play or playwright: critical opinion, a biographical sketch, a chronological list of the writer's major works and more, and Children's Literature Review: most popular and influential authors of the genre are assessed through criticism of their major works. Entries presented in HTML and scanned page images that can be exported in PDF.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000842
Literature Resource Center from Gale
    Gale
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Literature Resource Center from Gale

Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world, supplemented by the U.S., and English Authors Series. Full text presented as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000101
Literature Resources from Gale
    Gale MLA
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Literature Resources from Gale

Use the Literature Resources interface to cross-search most Gale literary databases: Literature Resources Center, Gale Virtual Reference Library (literature-related reference works), MLA International Bibliography, Scribner Writers Series, and Twayne's Authors Series. Indexed sources include biographies, literary criticism articles, reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of language, literature, folklore, and the dramatic arts. 1926-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Literature encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Literature encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across 18 subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 42,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Lives of Scottish Poets from the VT Center for Applied Technology in the Humanities
    Lives of Scottish Poets
This resource is freely accessible

Lives of Scottish Poets from the VT Center for Applied Technology in the Humanities

An online edition of an 1821-22 collection of sixty-four biographies of Scottish poets with a supplement of 190 minor lives.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010