Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Social sciences and education

This subject category includes databases covering social sciences and human sciences, including anthropology, communication, education, history, human development, international studies, law, military science, political science, psychology, public administration, and sociology. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences, Architecture and Urban Studies, and the School of Education.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
LandScan Global Population Database
    LandScan
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

LandScan Global Population Database from East View

LandScan is a global population database that shows geographical distribution of population at one-kilometer resolution over an average 24-hour period. Demographic (age, race, sex) and socioeconomic characteristics are integrated with population data to allow integration with risk and impact assessment models. 2011-2013.  

Full record

Jul 13, 2012 e1001184
Law encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Law encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across nine subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 12,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Leadership Federal Government
    Leadership Federal Government
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link

Leadership Federal Government

Leadership Federal Government provides access to a directory of contact information for federal agencies, employees, and decision makers, including phone and fax numbers, addresses, emails, and biographical information. It allows searching the online federal government contact directory by organization type, acronym or person and discover the depth of our federal government contact directory.  

Full record

Nov 30, 2011 e1001160
Legal Collection from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Legal Collection from EBSCOhost

The Legal Collection indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text journal articles and case studies. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. Full text presented in HTML and PDF. 1965-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000645
Legislative Information System from the Virginia General Assembly
    Legislative Information System
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Legislative Information System from the Virginia General Assembly

The Legislative Information System includes general information about the legislative process and its participants as well as the full text, summaries, status history of bills and resolutions and schedules of activity. Full text searching is also available for the Code of Virginia, Virginia Administrative Code, Bills and Resolutions, and House and Senate Documents.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000728
Linguistic Bibliography Online from Brill
    Linguistic Bibliography Online
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Linguistic Bibliography Online from Brill

Linguistic Bibliography Online indexes citations of journal articles and book chapters in linguistics. It includes publications from interdisciplinary fields, such as anthropology, psychology, sociology, philosophy and computer science and extensive coverage of non-Indo-European and lesser-known Indo-European languages. 1993-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000881