Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Research starter

This list includes databases in which you can begin many research topics. It includes databases catering to all levels of user, not just undergraduates. Content of these databases can include reference sources like encyclopedias or dictionaries; articles that give an overview of a topic, issue, controversy, or recent event; or that provide broad coverage to assist in narrowing or refining a research topic. After you have used these databases for background research on your topic, you can move on to more subject-specific databases.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Legal Collection from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Legal Collection from EBSCOhost

The Legal Collection indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text journal articles and case studies. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. Full text presented in HTML and PDF. 1965-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000645
LexisNexis Academic
    LexisNexis
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

LexisNexis Academic

LexisNexis Academic is a collection of hundreds of databases covering topics such as news, business, legal research, people, and company information. The default start search form uses the Easy Search method in the General search tab. Select Power Search for more advanced search options. Use the Sources link to choose from individual databases. All content is full text in HTML. News sources 1977-present; legal source 1789-present.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000260
Literary Themes for Students: Race and Prejudice from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Literary Themes for Students: Race and Prejudice from Gale from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Literary Themes for Students: Race and Prejudice provides full-text essays in HTML and PDF on race and prejudice in literature.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Literary Themes for Students: The American Dream from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Literary Themes for Students: The American Dream from Gale from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Literary Themes for Students: The American Dream provides full-text essays on HTML and PDF on the theme of the American dream.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Literary Themes for Students: War and Peace from Gale from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Literary Themes for Students: War and Peace from Gale from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Literary Themes for Students: War and Peace provided full-text essays in HTML and PDF on the theme of war and peace in literature.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Literature encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Literature encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across 18 subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 42,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118