Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

General interest

This subject category includes databases are either basic or broad in scope. They include resources that cover multiple subject areas, such as general purpose encyclopedias, large article indexing databases, or newspaper article indexing databases.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Making of America from Cornell University
    Making of America
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Making of America from Cornell University

Making of America provides digital reproductions of primary sources related to development of the U.S. infrastructure. Content is provided in text, GIF, and PDF formats. Major segments of this collection include magazines, ebooks, and Civil War documents. 1840-1900.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Making of America from the University of Michigan
    Making of America
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Making of America from the University of Michigan

Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Content is available in text, GIF, and PDF formats. 1840-1900.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
MasterFILE Premier from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

MasterFILE Premier from EBSCOhost

MasterFILE Premier indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles, books and reference works (including the World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary, and Book of Facts), primary source documents, photos, maps, flags, biographies, book reviews from Magill Book Reviews, and news transcripts. Full text available in HTML, PDF, and some scanned image formats. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000646
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print from EBSCOhost

The Mental Measurement Yearbook provides descriptive information and critical reviews of new and revised tests that are commercially-available. Each entry contains descriptive info (test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited reviews written by leading area experts, but not the actual tests, though links may be provided. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.Vol 1-present. Limited to   simultaneous users.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000170
Merriam Webster Visual Dictionary
    Merriam Webster Visual Dictionary
This resource is freely accessible

Merriam Webster Visual Dictionary

When you know what something looks like but not what it's called, or when you know the word but can't picture the object, a visual dictionary is a quick solution. In a quick look, you can match the word to the image. In Merriam Webster's version, the image realistically and precisely shows an object, a process or a phenomenon, and the most significant details of its composition. It serves as a visual definition for each of the terms presented. Includes over 6000 images and 20,000 definitions

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
MetaLib from GPO
    GPO Metalib
This resource is freely accessible

MetaLib from GPO

Search across multiple government databases (currently 53 databases, including reference databases, digital repositories, or subject-based Web gateways) to find reports, articles, and citations. Search individual databases or create sets of databases with the A-Z Resource List. Access and search the "native" interface of these databases from the originating institution/agency. Email or export records in various formats.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Modern English Collection from the Electronic Text Center at UVA
    Electronic Text Center
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Modern English Collection from the Electronic Text Center at UVA

This heterogeneous collection contains fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, letters, newspapers, manuscripts and illustrations, arranged for browsing by author's last name or by category of interest. Each text is encoded in either SGML or XML and includes a bibliographic header with details about the creation of the electronic text and its print source. 1500s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, 1895-1976, from Chadwyck
    Chadwyck-Healey GPO Monthly Access
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, 1895-1976, from Chadwyck

The Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications includes citations to all government publications from 1895 to 1976. (For later coverage, see the GPO Monthly Catalog from FirstSearch , which continues the coverage contained in this database.) Researchers can search for keywords across all issues or during a specific period, find documents by individual or corporate author, or search any of the other fields included in the records.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000789