Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Health and medicine

This subject category includes databases covering the medical sciences, including nutrition, fitness, physiology, and psychiatry. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Agriculture & Life Sciences, Veterinary Medicine, and the Carillion School of Medicine.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
MEDLINE from FirstSearch
    FirstSearch
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

MEDLINE from FirstSearch

MEDLINE indexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to types of articles such as review articles and clinial trial reports. 1950-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000086
MEDLINE from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

MEDLINE from ProQuest

MEDLINE indexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 2000-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000061
MEDLINE from PubMed (National Library of Medicine)
    Entrez databases from NLM
This resource is freely accessible This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

MEDLINE from PubMed (NLM)

MEDLINE indexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to types of clinical queries, age, gender and species of subject, and review articles that summaries research on a topic. 1946-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000266
MEDLINE from Thomson Web of Science
    ISI Web of Science
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

MEDLINE from Thomson Web of Science

MEDLINE indexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to types of clinical queries, age, gender and species of subject, and review articles that summaries research on a topic. 1950-present.  

Full record

Jun 19, 2013 e1001640
MeSH Catalog from NLM
    Entrez databases from NLM
This resource is freely accessible

MeSH Catalog from NLM

MeSH is NLM's controlled vocabulary used for indexing articles in PubMed. MeSH terminology provides a consistent way to retrieve information that may use different terminology for the same concepts. Use the MeSH catalog to build a PubMed search strategy.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
MedicLatina from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

MedicLatina from EBSCOhost

MedicLatina indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. Most of the content is in Spanish, though English abstracts are available for some articles. Full text content is PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1990s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000647
Medicine encyclopedias from Oxford Refernce Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Medicine encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across 11 subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 64,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118