Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Social sciences and education

This subject category includes databases covering social sciences and human sciences, including anthropology, communication, education, history, human development, international studies, law, military science, political science, psychology, public administration, and sociology. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences, Architecture and Urban Studies, and the School of Education.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Making of the Modern World from Gale
    Making of the Modern World
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Making of the Modern World from Gale

The Making of the Modern World provides digital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text searching across millions of pages of works from the period 1450-1914 provides researchers unparalleled access to this vast collection of material for research in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies, and more.  

Full record

Jun 29, 2014 e1001698
Maps and Illustration encyclopedias from Oxford Refernce Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Maps and Illustration encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across three subject encyclopedias and dictionaries, including locator, physical and political maps for each country, over 120 island maps, state maps for North America, Canada, and Mexico, and more than 100 city maps. References are linked via Get VText.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print from EBSCOhost

The Mental Measurement Yearbook provides descriptive information and critical reviews of new and revised tests that are commercially-available. Each entry contains descriptive info (test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited reviews written by leading area experts, but not the actual tests, though links may be provided. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.Vol 1-present. Limited to   simultaneous users.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000170
Miitary History encyclopedias from Oxford Refernce Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Military History encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across six subject encyclopedias and dictionaries, including more than 8,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Military & Government Collection from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Military & Government Collection from EBSCOhost

The Military & Government Collection database indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals, news sources, primary source documents, legislative acts and proclamations, and other publications covering all aspects of the military. Full text presented in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1975-present.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000648
Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia
    Archives Unbound
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia

This collection consists of the diaries, journals, and narratives of explorers, emigrants, military men, Native Americans, and travelers. There are accounts on farming and mining communities, family histories, and folklore, providing a view of the region between Lexington, Kentucky and Winchester, Virginia, and from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania to Birmingham, Alabama, and the social, political, economic, scientific, religious, and agricultural characteristics of the region. 1700-1950.  

Full record

Jun 26, 2014 e1001699