Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Agricultural, biological, and medical sciences

This subject category includes databases covering the life sciences: agriculture, biology, and natural resources. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Agriculture & Life Sciences, Natural Resources, Science, and Veterinary Medicine.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
NCBI National Center for Biotechnology Information Bookshelf
    Entrez databases from NLM
This resource is freely accessible

National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Bookshelf

The NCBI Bookshelf hosts full-text books (mostly as PDFs) that can be searched or browsed. Titles are also linked from other NCBI databases such as PubMed.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
National Agriculture Statistics Service (NASS) from USDA
    USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

National Agriculture Statistics Service (NASS) from USDA

NASS allows searching and browsing of reports and data sets compiled by the National Agricultural Statistics Service. Reports cover virtually every facet of U.S. agriculture—production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, and other aspects of the farm industry. Data sets are commodity specific and contains many category breakdowns including U.S., state, and county crop and livestock data. Full-text reports available in PDF and text. Reports 1900s-present; data sets 1866-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (NACDA) from ICPSR
    ICPSR - InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (NACDA) from ICPSR

NACDA provides both data sets relevant to gerontological research and an index of citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, government and agency reports, working papers, dissertations, conference papers, meeting presentations, unpublished manuscripts, magazine and newspaper articles, and audiovisual materials that reference data held in the NACDA and ISCPR archives. 1862-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000238
National Atlas of the United States
    National Atlas
This resource is freely accessible

National Atlas of the United States

The National Atlas of the United States is an interactive, online version of the print atlas. Maps available as GIF and PDF. Vector files are available in Shapefile and SDTS-TVP formats. Geostatistical data are in DBF format. Images are GeoTIFF files.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
National Library of Medicine Catalog
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

National Library of Medicine Catalog

The NLM Catalog provides access to NLM bibliographic data for journals, books, audiovisuals, computer software, electronic resources and other materials. It contains detailed MEDLINE indexing information about the journals in PubMed and other NCBI databases. Links to the library's holdings in LocatorPlus, NLM's online public access catalog, are also provided. Use Interlibrary Loan to request titles found in this catalog that are not owned locally.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Natural History encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Natural History Encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across eight subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 10,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Neurosciences Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Neurosciences Abstracts from ProQuest

Neuroscience Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference papers, books, and patents in the fields of medicine, neural diseases like Alzheimer's, molecular neurobiology, biological sciences, neurophysiology, and biophysics. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1982-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000058
Nucleic Acids Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Nucleic Acids Abstracts from ProQuest

Nucleic Acids Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference papers, books, dissertations, and patents in the fields of biochemistry, biological sciences, genetics, biotechnology, and bioengineering. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1982-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000057
Nucleotide Database from NLM
    Entrez databases from NLM
This resource is freely accessible

Nucleotide Database from NLM

The Nucleotide Database is a collection of sequences from several sources, including GenBank, RefSeq, TPA and PDB. Genome, gene and transcript sequence data provide the foundation for biomedical research and discovery.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010