Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

General interest

This subject category includes databases are either basic or broad in scope. They include resources that cover multiple subject areas, such as general purpose encyclopedias, large article indexing databases, or newspaper article indexing databases.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
NINES: Nineteenth Century Scholarship Online
    N I N E S: Nineteenth Century Scholarship Online
This resource is freely accessible

N I N E S: Nineteenth Century Scholarship Online

NINES (Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-Century Electronic Scholarship) indexes citations to publications, manuscripts, art, and photos, with links to full text (some in restricted access databases) and acts as a clearinghouse for peer-reviewed digital resources, which can be collected, annotated, and re-used in online "exhibits."

Full record

Apr 23, 2012
NSTC - Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue - C19
    C19 The nineteenth centure index
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

NSTC - Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue - C19

The Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue indexes bibliographic records or works published in Britain, its colonies, the U.S., and other works in English or translated into English from elsewhere in the world. Records include books and manuscripts, periodicals, directories, and other publications. 1801-1919.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000431
National Academies Press
    National Academies Press
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

National Academies Press

The National Academies Press provides over 4000 free PDF ebooks (most of their published titles). Free registration is required before you can download the PDFs. You can download a single PDF for the entire book, or one for each chapter. We link from the Addison screen for our print copies to the online version on the NAP site. You can browse subject categories or search across the collection.

Full record

Jul 30, 2012
National Geographic Society Publications Index
    National Geographic
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

National Geographic Society Publications Index

The NGS Publications Index contains over 30,000 citations, each describing a magazine article, book, map, or other Society product,. Use Addison, the library catalog to locate specific issues. 1888-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
    Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon Gold open access - publishing

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations

The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text theses and dissertations from around the world. Many are available in full text through this database (otherwise you may be able to request a copy through interlibrary loan). Early 1900s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
New York Times from ProQuest Historical Newspapers
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon 

New York Times from ProQuest Historical Newspapers

New York Times from ProQuest Historical Newspapers offers full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th Century. The database includes  paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format, including front pages, articles, editorials, photos, advertisements, wedding and engagement announcements, cartoons, birth and death announcements, reviews, and more. 1851-2007.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000332
News and Newspaper databases from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

News & Newspaper databases from ProQuest

This database indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text for journal and newspaper articles from historical and current, international and domestic newspaper databases on the ProQuest platform. Use the Databases link at the top of the screen to change which databases are searched. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1681-present.  

Full record

Jun 28, 2012 e1001251
Newspaper Index (Local Newspapers)
    newspaper index
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Newspaper Index (Local Newspapers)

Full-text index of local newspapers. Covers Virginia Tech, Southwest Virginia and the New River Valley, from the Roanoke Times and World News (Jan 1, 1992-Feb 28, 1997), the News Messenger (1963 to June 1998), The Collegiate Times (1970 to June 1998), the Virginia Tech Spectrum (Fall 1994-Spring 2005).  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000278
Newspaper Source Plus from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource 

Newspaper Source Plus from EBSCOhost

Newspaper Source Plus indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from more than 860 newspapers. Full-text articles are available in PDF format.The database covers major newspapers and television and radio news transcripts. 1985-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000649
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) from Gale
    Nineteenth Century Literarture Online from Gale
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) from Gale

NCCO indexes the full text of books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, maps, diaries, photographs, statistics, literature, government reports, treaties, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages as HTML and PDF, plus some image formats. Now includes 12 topical areas from literature to science, politics to religion, and maps to photography. 1789-1925.  

Full record

May 30, 2012 e1001235