Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Agricultural, biological, and medical sciences

This subject category includes databases covering the life sciences: agriculture, biology, and natural resources. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Agriculture & Life Sciences, Natural Resources, Science, and Veterinary Medicine.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
OMIA: Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

OMIA: Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals from NLM

Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals is a database of genes, inherited disorders and traits in animal species (other than human and mouse) with links to relevant records from OMIM, PubMed, Gene, and soon to NCBI's Phenotype database.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
OMIM: Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

OMIM: Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man from NLM

Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM) is a compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes. The full-text, referenced overviews in OMIM contain information on all known mendelian disorders and over 12,000 genes. OMIM focuses on the relationship between phenotype and genotype.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Oceanic Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Oceanic Abstracts from ProQuest

Oceanic Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles and conference papers in the fields of ecology, marine geology, biological oceanography, marine pollution, geophysics, geochemistry, marine biology, and maritime law. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1981-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000055
Oncogenes & Growth Factors Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Oncogenes & Growth Factors Abstracts from ProQuest

Oncogenes and Growth Factory Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference papers, and books in the fields of medicine, immunology, virology, bacteriology, genetics, molecular biology, cell growth, and oncogenesis. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1989-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000056
Online Digital Media Library from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
    US Fish and Wildlife Service National Digital Library
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Online Digital Media Library from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service's National Digital Library is a searchable collection of selected images, historical artifacts, audio clips, publications, and video and that are in the public domain. Documents are commonly presented as PDFs; multimedia are presented in JPG and other video formats. Also includes bibliographic records for physical media.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Opposing Viewpoints In Context from Gale
    Gale Opposong Viewpoints
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Opposing Viewpoint Resource Center from Gale

Opposing Viewpoints offers over 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays on controversial topics and current events, plus thousands of topic overviews, primary source documents, biographies of social activists, court case overviews, related full-text periodical articles, statistical tables, and multimedia content.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000736
Organic Agriculture Information Access from AFSIC
    Organic Agriculture Information Access
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Organic Agriculture Information Access from AFSIC

The Organic Agriculture Information Access is an electronic collection of historic United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) publications related to organic agriculture. In this collection, there are almost 200 documents published before 1942 (before synthetic chemicals became widely used) that contain state-of-the-art information and data that is still very pertinent for today's agriculture. Documents available JPGs and text.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Organic Eprints
    Organic ePrints
This resource is freely accessible

Organic Eprints

Organic Eprints is a repository of preprints (pre-review), postprints (post-review) and reprints (published) of scientific papers, conference papers and posters, theses, reports, books and book chapters, magazine articles, web products, project descriptions, and other published or unpublished documents related to organic agriculture. 1990-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Ornithological Worldwide Literature (OWL)
    Ornithological World Literature
This resource is freely accessible

Ornithological Worldwide Literature (OWL)

OWL indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference papers, reports, and dissertations on all aspects of ornithology. 1980-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Oxford Index
    Oxford Index
This resource is freely accessible

Oxford Index

The Oxford Index includes content from numerous Oxford databases and publications and presents abstracts and overviews of that content. Links to full-text may be restricted by subscriptions; we do not have access to everything indexed in this database.

Full record

Sep 9, 2014
Oxford Reference Online Premium
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Oxford Reference

Oxford Reference Online provides full-text articles from fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works. You can search across the entire collection, subject collections, or individual works. References are linked via Get VText.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118