Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

General interest

This subject category includes databases are either basic or broad in scope. They include resources that cover multiple subject areas, such as general purpose encyclopedias, large article indexing databases, or newspaper article indexing databases.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
OAIster from WorldCat
    WorldCat Discovery
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only  Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon 

OAIster from WorldCat

OAIster indexes citations and abstracts of multidisciplinary resources from open archives. Records contain a digital object link allowing users access to the object in a single click.The resources are available in the form of movies, audio files, datasets, digitized books.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000761
OECD - Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
    OECD
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

OECD iLibrary (Organisation for EconomicCo-operation and Development)

OECD iLibrary indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text journal articles, reports, and ebooks in all areas of world economics. Full text available in HTML and PDF, plus statistics in Excel. Our subscription includes six journals, though many content areas are freely available to any site visitor, such as the OECD Factbook, Working Papers, OECD Key Tables, and more. 1997-present.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000823
Online Books Page from UPenn
    UPenn Online Book Page
This resource is freely accessible

Online Books Page from UPenn

The Online Books Page is a catalog with links to freely accessible ebooks online. The index allows search and browsing by title, author, and subject, but not full-text searching.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Online Learning Center (OLC) from ICPSR
    ICPSR - InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Online Learning Center (OLC) from ICPSR

ICPSR's Online Learning Center presents ICPSR data sets in accessible formats designed for use in classroom settings, particularly for introductory-level classes. It includes data sets from a wide range of ICPSR collections. Each includes a bibliography of related materials.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000238
Open Library from the Internet Archive
    Open Library
This resource is freely accessible

Open Library from the Internet Archive

The Open Library catalog allows searching ovver 20 million bibliographic records and the full text of over 1.7 million ebooks the public domain books in PDF, ePub, Daisy, DjVu and ASCII text.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
OpenDOAR: Directory of Open Access Repositories
    Open DOAR
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

OpenDOAR: Directory of Open Access Repositories

OpenDOAR is both a directory of open access repositories and a database of the contents of most of those repositories. These repositories can include books, articles, conference papers, data sets, multimedia, patents, software, theses and dissertations, and manuscripts from all academic disciplines.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
OpinionArchives
    Opinion Archives
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Opinion Archives

This database is on trial through October 31, 2014. OpinionArchives provides 18 full-text magazines available for searching from initial issue to present print. Please complete this short survey to provide feedback on this database trial.

Full record

Oct 3, 2014 e1001723
Opposing Viewpoints In Context from Gale
    Gale Opposong Viewpoints
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Opposing Viewpoint Resource Center from Gale

Opposing Viewpoints offers over 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays on controversial topics and current events, plus thousands of topic overviews, primary source documents, biographies of social activists, court case overviews, related full-text periodical articles, statistical tables, and multimedia content.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000736
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
    Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is an illustrated collection of more than 57,000 specially written biographies of the men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's past. Limited to   simultaneous user.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000265
Oxford English Dictionary
    Oxford English Dictionary new edition
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia database provides Get VText links

Oxford English Dictionary

Browse or search over 600,000 words showing meanings, history, and pronunciations from across the English-speaking world. As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from those of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You'll still find these in the OED, but you'll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to films scripts and cookery books. You can also explore a timeline of when words entered the English language and the many works that have act as sources for the OED.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000129
Oxford Index
    Oxford Index
This resource is freely accessible

Oxford Index

The Oxford Index includes content from numerous Oxford databases and publications and presents abstracts and overviews of that content. Links to full-text may be restricted by subscriptions; we do not have access to everything indexed in this database.

Full record

Sep 9, 2014
Oxford Reference Online Premium
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Oxford Reference

Oxford Reference Online provides full-text articles from fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works. You can search across the entire collection, subject collections, or individual works. References are linked via Get VText.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118