Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Social sciences and education

This subject category includes databases covering social sciences and human sciences, including anthropology, communication, education, history, human development, international studies, law, military science, political science, psychology, public administration, and sociology. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences, Architecture and Urban Studies, and the School of Education.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Online Learning Center (OLC) from ICPSR
    ICPSR - InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Online Learning Center (OLC) from ICPSR

ICPSR's Online Learning Center presents ICPSR data sets in accessible formats designed for use in classroom settings, particularly for introductory-level classes. It includes data sets from a wide range of ICPSR collections. Each includes a bibliography of related materials.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000238
Open Knowledge Repository
    Open Knowledge Repository
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon Green open access - self archiving Gold open access - publishing

Open Knowledge Repository from the World Bank

The Open Knowledge Repository provides full-text reports, journals, working papers, books, and economic studies in HTML and PDF on international economic topics. 1978-present.  

Full record

Jun 15, 2012
Open Knowledge Repository from the World Bank
    Open Knowledge Repository
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon Green open access - self archiving Gold open access - publishing

Open Knowledge Repository from the World Bank

The Open Knowledge Repository provides full-text reports, journals, working papers, books, and economic studies in HTML and PDF on international economic topics. 1978-present.  

Full record

Jul 16, 2012 e1001334
Opposing Viewpoints In Context from Gale
    Gale Opposong Viewpoints
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Opposing Viewpoint Resource Center from Gale

Opposing Viewpoints offers over 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays on controversial topics and current events, plus thousands of topic overviews, primary source documents, biographies of social activists, court case overviews, related full-text periodical articles, statistical tables, and multimedia content.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000736
Oral History Online from Alexander Street Press
    Alexander Street Press
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Oral History Online from Alexander Street Press

Oral History Online is both an index of full-text interviews and other oral history narratives and free oral history information online. The narratives cover diverse subjects, including civil rights and race relations, labor history, African American history, women's history, immigration studies, political history, American Indian history, regional history, and more.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000141
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
    Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is an illustrated collection of more than 57,000 specially written biographies of the men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's past. Limited to   simultaneous user.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000265
Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World from Oxford Reference
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia database provides Get VText links

Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World from Oxford Reference

Search or browse over 2500 entries on almost one thousand years, from the first Olympic Games in 776 BC to the death of Marcus Aurelius in AD 180, this accessible and wide-ranging reference work draws on the groundbreaking Oxford Classical Dictionary to present more than 2,500 entries on the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome. The dictionary covers key aspects of ancient Greek and Roman life and literature, such as science, social structure, philosophy, and religion, and contains comprehensive articles on central figures, both real and mythological, from Achilles to Zeno. References are linked via Get VText.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Oxford Guide to Countries of the World
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia database provides Get VText links

Oxford Guide to Countries of the World

Organized alphabetically, each entry offers a brief history and outlines contemporary social, economic, political and religious issues. For each country there is a map and a quick-reference fact box containing data and statistics including languages, population, GDP, capital city, life expectancy, and more. References are linked via Get VText.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Oxford Index
    Oxford Index
This resource is freely accessible

Oxford Index

The Oxford Index includes content from numerous Oxford databases and publications and presents abstracts and overviews of that content. Links to full-text may be restricted by subscriptions; we do not have access to everything indexed in this database.

Full record

Sep 9, 2014
Oxford Reference Online Premium
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Oxford Reference

Oxford Reference Online provides full-text articles from fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works. You can search across the entire collection, subject collections, or individual works. References are linked via Get VText.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118