Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Agricultural, biological, and medical sciences

This subject category includes databases covering the life sciences: agriculture, biology, and natural resources. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Agriculture & Life Sciences, Natural Resources, Science, and Veterinary Medicine.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
PANGAEA: Publishing Network for Geoscientific and Environmental Data
    Pangaea
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon Green open access - self archiving

PANGAEA: Publishing Network for Geoscientific and Environmental Data

PANGAEA is an open access library aimed at archiving, publishing and distributing georeferenced data: climatology, oceanography, geology, ecology, and archaeology related data sets. Journal article citations provided for each data set. Data available in numerous formats.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
PILOTS - Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

PILOTS - Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress from ProQuest

PILOTS indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, books, reports, and dissertations in the fields of mental-health, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), psychology, professional ethics, public policy, and scientific methodology related to traumatized populations. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1960-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000461
PLANTS Database from the USDA
    USDA PLANTS
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

PLANTS Database from the USDA

The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. Fact Sheets provide brief descriptions of a plant, its uses, and cultural recommendations. Plant Guides are similar but more extensive. Both are provided as PDFs. The database also includes an image gallery of photos and line drawings of U.S. plants plus cultivated or foreign taxa.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Paleobiology Database
    Paleobiology Database
This resource is freely accessible

Paleobiology Database

The Paleobiology Database provides researchers with information about the entire fossil record. Data can be downloaded. Tools on the site also let you generate paleomaps, data summary tables, lists of common taxa, first appearances, diversity curves, ecological statistics, time scale confidence intervals, and stratigraphic confidence interval.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Plant Management Network
    Plant Management Network
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Plant Management Network

Plant Management Network indexes the full text of thousands of fact sheets, newsletters, product listings, conference papers, and training resources on applied plant science and other agricultural disciplines, plus articles from several plant science journals. Full text provides as PDFs. Also includes an image database of field crops, vegetables, fruits, trees, tropical plants, and turf grass. 2000-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000273
Plant Science from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Plant Science from ProQuest

Plant Science indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference proceedings, and books in the fields of plant and related life sciences. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1994-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000066
Plantwise Knowledge Bank
    Plantwise Knowledge Bank
This resource is freely accessible

Plantwise Knowledge Bank

The Plantwise Knowledge Bank provides crop pest distribution maps, a diagnostic tool, plus full-text factsheets in HTML and PDF on plants and their pests.  

Full record

Jul 26, 2012 e1001369
Pollution Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Pollution Abstracts from ProQuest

Pollution Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from conference proceedings, journal articles, books, reports, and dissertations in the fields of air pollution, marine pollution, waste management, land pollution, toxicology and health, and radiation. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1981-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000067
PopSet Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

PopSet Database from NLM

The PopSet database contains related nucleotide sequences that originate from comparative studies: phylogenetic, population, environmental (ecosystem), and mutational. Each record in the database is a set of nucleotide sequences representing the same molecule from the same species (population, mutation), different identifiable species (phylogenetic), or anonymous species from the same biological community (ecosystem).

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
PrimateLit
    PrimateLit
This resource is freely accessible database provides Get VText links

PrimateLit

PrimateLit indexes citation from articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, and book chapters that concern the life science and medical aspects of non-human primates. 1940-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
ProQuest Historical Periodicals
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ProQuest Historical Periodicals

ProQuest Historical Periodicals indexes citations and full text of 200 years of American magazines and journals and important newspapers of record. 1740-2007.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000296
Probe Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

Probe Database from NLM

The NCBI Probe Database is a public registry of nucleic acid reagents designed for use in a wide variety of biomedical research applications, together with information on reagent distributors, probe effectiveness, and computed sequence similarities.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Protein Clusters Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

Protein Clusters Database from NLM

The Protein Clusters database provides easy access to annotation information, publications, domains, structures, and external links and analysis tools including multiple alignments, phylogenetic trees, and genomic neighborhoods.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Protein Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

Protein Database from NLM

The Protein Database is a collection of sequences from several sources, including translations from annotated coding regions in GenBank, RefSeq and TPA, as well as records from SwissProt, PIR, PRF, and PDB. Protein sequences are the fundamental determinants of biological structure and function.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
PsycARTICLES from APA PsycNET
    PsycNET from APA
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

PsycARTICLES from APA PsycNET

PsycARTICLES indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. You can limit to age groups, classification codes, methodology, and population group. 1894-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000103
PsycBOOKS from APA PsycNET
    PsycNET from APA
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

PsycBOOKS from APA PsycNET

PsycBOOKS provides access to over 2500 full-text, scholarly books, plus thousands of book chapters and the complete Encyclopedia of Psychology. Each chapter is available as a PDF. You can limit to age group, classification code, methodology,  population group, and audience. 1597-present.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000857
PsycCRITIQUES from APA PsycNET
    PsycNET from APA
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

PsycCRITIQUES from APA PsycNET

PsycCRITIQUES provides full-text reviews of current books and some popular films, videos, and software as well as comparative reviews of books in the field of psychology. Full text available in HTML. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1956-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000245
PsycINFO from APA PsycNET
    PsycNET from APA
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

PsycINFO from APA PsycNET

PsycINFO indexes citations, abstracts, cited references, and some full text from articles, books, dissertations, and reviews on all aspects of psychology. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources, age group, classification code, methodology, and population group. 1840-present.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000109
PsycNET from APA
    PsycNET from APA
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

PsycNET from APA

Search across the four databases on this platform, or choose individual databases. 1800s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000109
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource 

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection from EBSCOhost

The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection database indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, magazines, and book reviews in the field of psychiatry and psychology, anthropology, emotional and behavioral characteristics. Full-text articles are available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1930-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000650
PubChem BioAssay Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

PubChem BioAssay Database from NLM

The PubChem BioAssay Database contains bioactivity screens of chemical substances described in PubChem Substance. It provides searchable descriptions of each bioassay, including descriptions of the conditions and readouts specific to that screening procedure.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
PubChem Compound Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

PubChem Compound Database from NLM

The PubChem Compounds Database contains validated chemical depiction information provided to describe substances in PubChem Substance. Structures stored within PubChem Compounds are pre-clustered and cross-referenced by identity and similarity groups. Additionally, calculated properties and descriptors are available for searching and filtering of chemical structures.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
PubChem Substance Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

PubChem Substance Database from NLM

The PubChem Substances Database contains descriptions of chemical samples, from a variety of sources, and links to PubMed citations, protein 3D structures, and biological screening results that are available in PubChem BioAssay. If the contents of a chemical sample are known, the description includes links to PubChem Compound.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
PubMed/MEDLINE from the NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

PubMed/MEDLINE from the NLM

PubMed indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books in the life sciences, including the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Advanced search limits include types of articles (such as clinical trial, case reports, or review), human or animal studies, and age of subjects. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. 1947-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000266