Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

General interest

This subject category includes databases are either basic or broad in scope. They include resources that cover multiple subject areas, such as general purpose encyclopedias, large article indexing databases, or newspaper article indexing databases.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
PAIS Archive and PAIS International from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

PAIS Archive and PAIS International from ProQuest

PAIS International indexes citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, and Internet material on all aspects of international affairs and politics. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources.1914-present.

 Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000063
PBS Streaming Video Collection
    PBS Video Database
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia

PBS Streaming Video Collection

This collection of streaming videos is the digital counterpart to our VHS collection of PBS shows. Complete list of titles. The collection covers a broad range of disciplines in the humanities, arts, social sciences and sciences, but is particularly strong in American history and American studies.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000694
Palmer's Index to the Times 1790-1905 (C19) from Chadwyck-Healey
    C19 The nineteenth centure index
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Palmer's Index to the Times 1790-1905 (C19) from Chadwyck-Healey

An index to the London Times newspaper microfilm collection (AN T5). Page and column references are provided for navigation of print or microfilm. Does not interface with the Times Digital Archive 1785-2008 (London Times) from Gale (1785-1985), which is produced by a competing database publisher.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000431
PapersFirst from FirstSearch
    FirstSearch
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

PapersFirst from FirstSearch

PapersFirst indexes citations of papers presented at conferences worldwide, journal articles, and books. It covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Center. The database covers a wide variety of subjects discussed at the covered meetings. 1993-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000087
People Search from LexisNexis
    LexisNexis
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

People Search from LexisNexis

People Search includes biographies from reference and news sources, including historical and political figures, entertainers, deceased people featured in various Who's Who publications, and people profiled in major news publications within the last two years. 1985-present, plus a retrospective of major 20th century people.  

Sep 13, 2010 e1000260
Perseus Digital Library
    Perseus
This resource is freely accessible

Perseus Digital Library

Perseus Digital Library covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world, plus Arabic materials, Germanic materials, 19th-century America, the Renaissance, and Civil War issues of the Richmond Times-Dispatch. It collects texts, images, datasets and other primary materials. The database assembles and structures encyclopedias, maps, grammars, dictionaries and other reference works. 850,000 reference articles provide background on 450,000 people, places, organizations, dictionary definitions, grammatical functions and other topics.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (C19) from Chadwyck-Healey
    C19 The nineteenth centure index
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (C19) from Chadwyck-Healey

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature indexes citations of over 450,000 articles from Anglo-American periodicals. 1803-1906.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000431
Prints & Photographs Online Catalog from the Library of Congress
    Library of Congress
This resource is freely accessible

Prints & Photographs Online Catalog from the Library of Congress

The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog contains catalog records and digital images for for photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings held by the Library of Congress. 1400s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
ProQuest Congressional
    ProQuest Congressional
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ProQuest Congressional

ProQuest Congressional indexes citation to and provides some full text for congressional publications and legislative history. 1969-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000115
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

ProQuest Historical Newspapers allows cross searching of full-text national newspapers back to issue one. Full text available as scanned images and PDF. 1847-2007.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000332
ProQuest Historical Periodicals
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ProQuest Historical Periodicals

ProQuest Historical Periodicals indexes citations and full text of 200 years of American magazines and journals and important newspapers of record. 1740-2007.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000296
ProQuest Recent Periodicals
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ProQuest Recent Periodicals

ProQuest Recent Periodicals offers cross searching of full-text databases, including ABI/INFORM from ProQuest (business topics), Ethnic NewsWatch from ProQuest (the ethnic press worldwide), and GenderWatch from ProQuest (gender issues). Full text provided as PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1970-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000291
ProQuest Statistical Insight
    ProQuest Statistical
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

ProQuest Statistical Insight

ProQuest Statistical Insight indexes statistical information produced by U.S. federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. PQSI provides descriptive abstracts, detailed indexing, full-text PDFs of source documents and tables, and downloadable table data in spreadsheet formats. 1970s-present.  

Full record

May 22, 2012 e1001230
ProceedingsFirst from FirstSearch
    FirstSearch
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ProceedingsFirst from FirstSearch

ProceedingsFirst indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, books, congresses, symposia, conferences, expositions, workshops, and meetings received by The British Library Document Supply Centre. 1993-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000088