Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Health and medicine

This subject category includes databases covering the medical sciences, including nutrition, fitness, physiology, and psychiatry. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Agriculture & Life Sciences, Veterinary Medicine, and the Carillion School of Medicine.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
PILOTS - Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

PILOTS - Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress from ProQuest

PILOTS indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, books, reports, and dissertations in the fields of mental-health, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), psychology, professional ethics, public policy, and scientific methodology related to traumatized populations. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1960-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000461
Physical Education Index from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Physical Education Index from ProQuest

Physical Education Index indexes abstracts and citations from journal articles, conference papers, books, reports, dissertations, and patents in the fields of education, medicine and life sciences, and business. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1970-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000065
PopSet Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

PopSet Database from NLM

The PopSet database contains related nucleotide sequences that originate from comparative studies: phylogenetic, population, environmental (ecosystem), and mutational. Each record in the database is a set of nucleotide sequences representing the same molecule from the same species (population, mutation), different identifiable species (phylogenetic), or anonymous species from the same biological community (ecosystem).

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
PrimateLit
    PrimateLit
This resource is freely accessible database provides Get VText links

PrimateLit

PrimateLit indexes citation from articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, and book chapters that concern the life science and medical aspects of non-human primates. 1940-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Probe Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

Probe Database from NLM

The NCBI Probe Database is a public registry of nucleic acid reagents designed for use in a wide variety of biomedical research applications, together with information on reagent distributors, probe effectiveness, and computed sequence similarities.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Protein Clusters Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

Protein Clusters Database from NLM

The Protein Clusters database provides easy access to annotation information, publications, domains, structures, and external links and analysis tools including multiple alignments, phylogenetic trees, and genomic neighborhoods.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Protein Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

Protein Database from NLM

The Protein Database is a collection of sequences from several sources, including translations from annotated coding regions in GenBank, RefSeq and TPA, as well as records from SwissProt, PIR, PRF, and PDB. Protein sequences are the fundamental determinants of biological structure and function.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
PsycTHERAPY from APA PsycNet
    PsycNET from APA
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summondatabase provides Get VText links

PsycTHERAPY from APA PsycNet

This database is on trial through October 31, 2014. PsycTHERAPY provides unscripted videos of  therapy sessions, with searchable transcripts and the ability to create playlists. Please complete this short survey to provide feedback on this database trial. 

Full record

Oct 1, 2014 e1001381
PubChem BioAssay Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

PubChem BioAssay Database from NLM

The PubChem BioAssay Database contains bioactivity screens of chemical substances described in PubChem Substance. It provides searchable descriptions of each bioassay, including descriptions of the conditions and readouts specific to that screening procedure.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
PubChem Compound Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

PubChem Compound Database from NLM

The PubChem Compounds Database contains validated chemical depiction information provided to describe substances in PubChem Substance. Structures stored within PubChem Compounds are pre-clustered and cross-referenced by identity and similarity groups. Additionally, calculated properties and descriptors are available for searching and filtering of chemical structures.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
PubChem Substance Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

PubChem Substance Database from NLM

The PubChem Substances Database contains descriptions of chemical samples, from a variety of sources, and links to PubMed citations, protein 3D structures, and biological screening results that are available in PubChem BioAssay. If the contents of a chemical sample are known, the description includes links to PubChem Compound.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
PubMed/MEDLINE from the NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

PubMed/MEDLINE from the NLM

PubMed indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books in the life sciences, including the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Advanced search limits include types of articles (such as clinical trial, case reports, or review), human or animal studies, and age of subjects. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. 1947-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000266