Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Humanities and performing arts

This subject category includes databases covering humanities and performing arts. Use these databases for research and courses in the college of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences and the School of Performing Arts.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Performing Arts encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Performing Arts encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across 11 subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 39,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Periodicals Index Online (C19) from Chadwyck-Healey
    C19 The nineteenth centure index
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Periodicals Index Online (C19) from Chadwyck-Healey

PIO is an index of citations to periodical articles in 37 key subject areas in the humanities and social sciences and currently indexes over 15 million articles. Some citations are linked to full text in JSTOR. 1665-1995.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000431
Perseus Digital Library
    Perseus
This resource is freely accessible

Perseus Digital Library

Perseus Digital Library covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world, plus Arabic materials, Germanic materials, 19th-century America, the Renaissance, and Civil War issues of the Richmond Times-Dispatch. It collects texts, images, datasets and other primary materials. The database assembles and structures encyclopedias, maps, grammars, dictionaries and other reference works. 850,000 reference articles provide background on 450,000 people, places, organizations, dictionary definitions, grammatical functions and other topics.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
PhilPapers
    PhilPapers
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links Green open access - self archiving

PhilPapers

PhilPapers indexes citations and full text of journal articles, books, personal web sites, and open access archives in philosophy.  

Full record

Sep 19, 2014 e1001720
Philosopher's Index from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Philosopher's Index from ProQuest

The Philosopher's Index indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, books, chapters/essays, book reviews in the fields of philosophy, aesthetics, metaphysics, social philosophy, and axiology. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1940-present

 Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000171
ProQuest Historical Periodicals
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ProQuest Historical Periodicals

ProQuest Historical Periodicals indexes citations and full text of 200 years of American magazines and journals and important newspapers of record. 1740-2007.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000296