Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Social sciences and education

This subject category includes databases covering social sciences and human sciences, including anthropology, communication, education, history, human development, international studies, law, military science, political science, psychology, public administration, and sociology. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences, Architecture and Urban Studies, and the School of Education.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
RAND State Statistics
    Rand
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

RAND State Statistics

RAND State Statistics indexes data from all 50 states (some down to the city or county level) in areas of business and economics, quality of life, education, energy and environment, government finance, health and socioeconomics, and population and demographics. Data can be downloaded in spreadsheet formats. 1960-present.  

Full record

May 21, 2012 e1001231
REHABDATA from the National Rehabilitation Information Center
    NARIC REHABDATA Literature Database
This resource is freely accessible

REHABDATA from the National Rehabilitation Information Center

REHABDATA indexes citations and abstracts of books, reports, articles, and audiovisual materials relating to the health, psychology, and education aspects of disability and rehabilitation research. 1956-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Remote Sensing Digital Image Analysis from SpringerLink
    SpringerLink
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Remote Sensing Digital Image Analysis from SpringerLink

Remote Sensing Digital Image Analysis provides the non-specialist with an introduction to quantitative evaluation of satellite and aircraft derived remotely retrieved data. Each chapter covers the pros and cons of digital remotely sensed data. Its focus is on those procedures that have become part of the set of tools regularly used to perform thematic mapping.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000793
Resource Center for Minority Data (MDRC) from ICPSR
    ICPSR - InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only 

Resource Center for Minority Data (RCMD) from ICPSR

RCMD provides data sets and indexes article citations for journal articles, books and book chapters, government and agency reports, working papers, dissertations, conference papers, meeting presentations, unpublished manuscripts, magazine and newspaper articles, and audiovisual materials about the social science, education, and health aspects of minorities.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000238
Risk Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Risk Abstracts from ProQuest

Risk Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts of articles from journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and patents in the field of risk management, and risk-related concerns in public and environmental health, social issues, and psychology. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1990-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000068
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
    Roper
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research

The Roper Center indexes questions and response data from public opinion polls and academic surveys. Polls are available in HTML and PDF; data sets can be downloaded as text or SPSS files. Many results can be viewed as interactive cross tabulations. You must create a profile and sign in to download data sets. 1930s-present.  

Full record

May 16, 2012 e1001232