Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Agricultural, biological, and medical sciences

This subject category includes databases covering the life sciences: agriculture, biology, and natural resources. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Agriculture & Life Sciences, Natural Resources, Science, and Veterinary Medicine.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
S-PAC Searchable Proceedings of Animal Conferences
    S-PAC  Searchable Proceedings of Animal Conferences
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

S-PAC: Searchable Proceedings of Animal Conferences

S-PAC indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text conference proceedings on animal production and management. Full text available in PDF. 1935-present. Limited to   simultaneous users.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000390
SANREM CRSP (Sustainable Agriculture and Natural Resource Management) Knowledgebase from the VT OIRED
    SANREM CRSP
This resource is freely accessible

SANREM CRSP (Sustainable Agriculture and Natural Resource Management) Knowledgebase from the VT OIRED

The SANREM CRSP Knowledgebase indexes citations and full-text reports, books, journal articles, videos, and presentations related to sustainable agriculture and natural resource management in the developing world. Full text available in PDF, MS Word, and other formats. 

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
SciTech Connect
    SciTech Connect
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

SciTech Connect

SciTech Connect indexes citations and full-text technical reports, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, and data sets related to publicly available Department of Energy sponsored research. 1940s-present.

Full record

May 3, 2013
Science Citation Index from Thomson Reuters Web of Knowledge
    ISI Web of Science
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Science Citation Index from Thomson Web of Science

Science Citation Index, a subset of Web of Science, indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text from journal articles, books, and conference proceedings in all science disciplines. You can search cited references. 1975-present (older data available in print).   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000190
Science.Gov search engine
    Science.gov
This resource is freely accessible

Science.Gov search engine

Science.gov is a federated search engine that cross-searches over 45 scientific databases and over 2100 scientific websites.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Smoking and Health Database from the CDC
    Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Smoking and Health Database from the CDC

The Smoking and Health Database indexes citations and abstracts from medical and professional journals, books and book chapters, dissertations, reports, conference proceedings, government documents from federal, state, local, and foregin governments, fact sheets, and policy documents from U.S. and international nonprofits organizations. 1882-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Social Sciences in Forestry
    Social Sciences in Forestry
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Social Sciences in Forestry

Social Sciences in Forestry indexes citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and government documents concerning to the areas of legislation, policy and planning, management, economic development, investment, and finance in relation to forestry. 1985-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000220
SpringerLink ebooks
    SpringerLink
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

SpringerLink Ebooks

SpringerLink provides over 12,000 ebooks in architecture and design, business and economics, engineering and the physical sciences, the life sciences, medicine, humanities, and the social sciences. Each chapter is presented as a separate PDF. We have access to most English-language ebooks from 2005 forward (indicated with a green access icon).  

Full record

Jun 15, 2012
SpringerProtocols
    Springer Protocols
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

SpringerProtocols

SpringerProtocols is a set of peer-reviewed, reproducible procedures for scientific experiments in the life sciences with step-by-step instructions in HTML and PDF and some streaming videos. 1980s-present.  

Full record

Jul 18, 2012 e1001292
Structure Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

Structure Database from NLM

Structure Database indexes data on macromolecules such as proteins. You can view the structures, find similar structures, and see chemical interactions related to these structures.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Sustainability Science Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Sustainability Science Abstracts from ProQuest

Sustainability Science Abstracts indexes abstracts and citations from journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, reports, theses, and dissertations in the fields of sustainable development, human population and demography, natural resource management, and conservation of natural resources. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1995-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000136