Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Engineering and physical sciences

This subject category includes databases covering engineering and the physical sciences: chemistry, geosciences, mathematics, physics, and statistics. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Engineering and Sciences.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
SAE Technical Papers
    Society of Automotive Engineers
This resource is freely accessible

SAE Technical Papers

We do not have a subscription to this database; you cannot download technical papers from it. Use this database to find/verify the paper number and date needed. Then request SAE Technical Papers through ILLiad.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000227
SIMBAD Astronomical Database
    SIMBAD
This resource is freely accessible

SIMBAD Astronomical Database

SIMBAD indexes bibliographic references and data on astronomical topics: stars, galaxies, planetary nebulae, clusters, and novae and supernovae. Each object indexes has description data, cross identifications, observational data, plus a general bibliography of references to the object.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
SPIE Digital Library
    SPIE
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

SPIE Digital Library

SPIE Digital Library provides full-text journals and conference proceedings on the physical sciences of optics and photonics. Full text available as PDFs. 1990-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000382
Safari Books Online
    Sarafi Tech Books Online
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon

Safari Books Online

Safari Books Online provides over 16,000 full-text ebooks (HTML) in computer science, information technology, and business. A few titles can be downloaded as PDFs.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000269
SciFinder
    SciFinder Scholar
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

SciFinder

SciFinder indexes citations and abstracts from Chemical Abstract Services databases and MEDLINE including journal articles, patents, books, conference papers, dissertations, and reports. You can search text-based fields or draw chemical structures. You can perform cited reference searches. 1907-present. Limited to   simultaneous users. Registration required.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000205
SciTech Connect
    SciTech Connect
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

SciTech Connect

SciTech Connect indexes citations and full-text technical reports, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, and data sets related to publicly available Department of Energy sponsored research. 1940s-present.

Full record

May 3, 2013
Science Citation Index from Thomson Reuters Web of Knowledge
    ISI Web of Science
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Science Citation Index from Thomson Web of Science

Science Citation Index, a subset of Web of Science, indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text from journal articles, books, and conference proceedings in all science disciplines. You can search cited references. 1975-present (older data available in print).   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000190
Science.Gov search engine
    Science.gov
This resource is freely accessible

Science.Gov search engine

Science.gov is a federated search engine that cross-searches over 45 scientific databases and over 2100 scientific websites.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Shock & Vibration Digest from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Shock & Vibration Digest from EBSCOhost

Shock & Vibration Digest indexes abstracts, citations, and full text of journal articles, book reviews, and conference proceedings in the engineering fields of shock and vibration, noise, and vibration technologies. The full-text materials are available in both HTML and PDF formats. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1967-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000698
SmartBuilding Index from Reed Construction Data
    Smart Building Index
This resource is freely accessible

SmartBuilding Index from Reed Construction Data

SmartBuilding Index provides architects, spec writers, engineers and contractors with in-depth information on commercial building products - including technical data, sourcing, cost data, project use examples, and downloadable specs, CAD and BIM objects.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th Revised Edition) from Knovel
    Knovel
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th Revised Edition) from Knovel

This reference source include 901 tables of data relevant to engineering and physics. Each chapters is a separate PDF.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000002
Solid State & Superconductivity Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Solid State & Superconductivity Abstracts from ProQuest

Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts indexes abstracts and citations from journal articles, conference proceedings, books, essays, reports, patents, and theses and dissertations in engineering and physical sciences. You can restrict to peer-reviewed sources. 1981-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000071
SpringerLink ebooks
    SpringerLink
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

SpringerLink Ebooks

SpringerLink provides over 12,000 ebooks in architecture and design, business and economics, engineering and the physical sciences, the life sciences, medicine, humanities, and the social sciences. Each chapter is presented as a separate PDF. We have access to most English-language ebooks from 2005 forward (indicated with a green access icon).  

Full record

Jun 15, 2012
Synthesis Lecture Series from Morgan and Claypool
    Morgan Claypool Publishers
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science

Synthesis is a collection of about 200 ebooks in engineering and the sciences. Complete list of books. The basic component is a 50-100 page ebook called a Lecture that synthesizes important research or development topics, authored by a prominent contributor to the field that provide more synthesis, analysis, and depth than typical journal articles. Each ebook is a single PDF. 2005-present.     

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000434
Treatise on Geophysics from ScienceDirect
    ScienceDirect
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Treatise on Geophysics from ScienceDirect

The Treatise on Geophysics provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on geophysics: seismology, structure of the earth, minerals, geodesy, geomagnetism, evolution of the earth, and planets and moons. References linked via CrossRef, which generates a Get VText window.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000893