Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

General interest

This subject category includes databases are either basic or broad in scope. They include resources that cover multiple subject areas, such as general purpose encyclopedias, large article indexing databases, or newspaper article indexing databases.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
SAGE Research Methods
    SAGE Research Methods
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

SAGE Knowledge

SAGE Knowledge provides full-text ebooks in the social sciences in HTML and PDF.

Full record

Aug 21, 2012 e1001335
SAGE Research Methods
    SAGE Research Methods
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

SAGE Research Methods

SAGE Research Methods indexes full-text books, reference sources, the "little green book" series (Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences), the "little blue book" series (Qualitative Research Methods), journal articles, and videos. Since this platform focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used by researchers from the social sciences, health sciences, and more. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit searches by research method type. 1970s-present.  

Full record

Jun 19, 2012 e1001202
Sabin Americana 1500-1926 from Gale
    Sabin Americana
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Sabin Americana 1500-1926 from Gale

Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials, and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions, and much more.  

Full record

Jun 24, 2014 e1001697
Salem Press
    Salem Press
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Salem Press

Salem Press provides full-text ebooks in HTML.

Full record

Jun 15, 2012 e1000878
Science.Gov search engine
    Science.gov
This resource is freely accessible

Science.Gov search engine

Science.gov is a federated search engine that cross-searches over 45 scientific databases and over 2100 scientific websites.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
ScienceDirect
    ScienceDirect
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect provides full-text ebooks and journals in all academic disciplines, not just the sciences. Full text available in HTML, PDF, and ereader formats like EPUB.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000442
Scirus
    Scirus
This resource is freely accessible

Scirus

Scirus is a comprehensive science-specific search engine that indexes web pages from scienctific publishers and other content providers. 

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
SimplyMap
    Simply Map
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

SimplyMap

SimplyMap is a web-based mapping application designed for non-technical as well as advance users to create thematic maps and reports using a variety of demographic, business, and marketing data. There are more 75,000 data variables related to demographics, employment, housing, market segments, businesses, consumer spending, brand preferences, and public health.   

Full record

Mar 5, 2014 e1001506
Smithsonian Institution Digital Libraries
    Smithsonian
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Smithsonian Institution Digital Library

The Smithsonian Library's Digital Library contains digital publications, collections and objects including online exhibitions, webcasts, digital editions, bibliographies and fact sheets, and finding aids/inventories for collections such as our trade literature collection and artist files.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Sound Online Inventory & Catalog (SONIC) from the Library of Congress
    Library of Congress catalog
This resource is freely accessible

Sound Online Inventory & Catalog (SONIC) from the Library of Congress

SONIC catalogs some of the audio recordings held by the Library of Congress: radio broadcasts, speeches, musical and theatrical performances, news broadcasts. and interviews. Some selections have been digitized and available online.1930s-present. 

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Transcripts Search from LexisNexis
    LexisNexis
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

Transcripts Search from LexisNexis

The Transcripts database indexes the full text of broadcast news and other programs from a variety of networks. Full text provided as HTML. 1990-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000260