Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Health and medicine

This subject category includes databases covering the medical sciences, including nutrition, fitness, physiology, and psychiatry. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Agriculture & Life Sciences, Veterinary Medicine, and the Carillion School of Medicine.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Salud en Espanol from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Salud en Español from EBSCOhost

Salud en Español (Spanish Health) provides complete reports based on evidence and fact sheets (in HTML and PDF) related to all aspects of health and wellness. It includes issue-specific reports covering all aspects of health, provide important general information regarding diseases, conditions and procedures of various treatments.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000656
SciTech Connect
    SciTech Connect
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

SciTech Connect

SciTech Connect indexes citations and full-text technical reports, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, and data sets related to publicly available Department of Energy sponsored research. 1940s-present.

Full record

May 3, 2013
Science Citation Index from Thomson Reuters Web of Knowledge
    ISI Web of Science
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Science Citation Index from Thomson Web of Science

Science Citation Index, a subset of Web of Science, indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text from journal articles, books, and conference proceedings in all science disciplines. You can search cited references. 1975-present (older data available in print).   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000190
Science.Gov search engine
    Science.gov
This resource is freely accessible

Science.Gov search engine

Science.gov is a federated search engine that cross-searches over 45 scientific databases and over 2100 scientific websites.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Senses: A Comprehensive Reference from ScienceDirect
    ScienceDirect
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

The Senses: A Comprehensive Reference from ScienceDirect

Six volume work covering vision, audition, olfaction and taste, pain, and somatosensation. Full-text searchable and browsable by author, title, and subject. Each entry is a separate PDF.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000441
Smoking and Health Database from the CDC
    Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Smoking and Health Database from the CDC

The Smoking and Health Database indexes citations and abstracts from medical and professional journals, books and book chapters, dissertations, reports, conference proceedings, government documents from federal, state, local, and foregin governments, fact sheets, and policy documents from U.S. and international nonprofits organizations. 1882-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
SpringerProtocols
    Springer Protocols
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

SpringerProtocols

SpringerProtocols is a set of peer-reviewed, reproducible procedures for scientific experiments in the life sciences with step-by-step instructions in HTML and PDF and some streaming videos. 1980s-present.  

Full record

Jul 18, 2012 e1001292
Structure Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

Structure Database from NLM

Structure Database indexes data on macromolecules such as proteins. You can view the structures, find similar structures, and see chemical interactions related to these structures.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA) from ICPSR
    ICPSR - InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA) from ICPSR

SAMHDA provides data sets on substance abuse and mental health issues, plus the questionnaires/instruments used to collect the data. It also indexes bibliography citations on these topics. Most data sets can be downloaded in SAS or SPSS formats.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000238