Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Languages and literatures

This subject category includes databases covering languages, linguistics, and literatures in English, foreign languages (especially languages taught by the Foreign Language department), and classics (Greek and Latin).

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Shakespeare Survey Online from Cambridge
    Cambridge Collections Online
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Shakespeare Survey Online from Cambridge

Shakespeare Survey is a yearbook of Shakespeare studies and production. Each volume is devoted to a theme, or play, or group of plays; each also contains a section of reviews of that year's textual and critical studies, and of the year's major British performances. Each chapter can be downloaded as a PDF. The books are illustrated with a variety of Shakespearean images and production photographs. 1948-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000734
Shakespeare for Students: Critical Interpretations of Shakespeare's Plays and Poetry from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Shakespeare for Students: Critical Interpretations of Shakespeare's Plays and Poetry from Gale Virtual Reference Library

A collection of essays by Shakespeare scholars that have been selected for students at the high school or undergraduate college level. Each entry includes an introduction; a plot synopsis; a character list; a discussion of the work's principal themes; information about the style and literary devices used; a conversation about the work's historical context; and a critical overview. Full text available as HTML and PDF.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Social Science Research Network
    Social Science Research Network
This resource is freely accessible

Social Science Research Network

Social Science Research Network indexes citation, abstracts, and some full text of pre-prints and other scholarly research papers.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Something About the Author Online from Gale
    Gale Literature Criticism Online
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Something About the Author Online from Gale

Something About the Author Online provides full-text access to all volumes of Gale's award-wining reference set, Something About the Author, the main series, and Something About the Author: Autobiography Series, which contain illustrated biographical profiles of children's authors and illustrators. View scanned images of the entries or export PDFs. 1971-present.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000844
Spenser and the Tradition: English Poetry 1579-1830
    Spenser
This resource is freely accessible

Spenser and the Tradition: English Poetry 1579-1830

English Poetry 1579-1830 indexes full-text poems, commentary, and biographical entries on writers from the English-speaking world. Full text in HTML.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010