Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Social sciences and education

This subject category includes databases covering social sciences and human sciences, including anthropology, communication, education, history, human development, international studies, law, military science, political science, psychology, public administration, and sociology. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences, Architecture and Urban Studies, and the School of Education.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
SAGE Research Methods
    SAGE Research Methods
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

SAGE Knowledge

SAGE Knowledge provides full-text ebooks in the social sciences in HTML and PDF.

Full record

Aug 21, 2012 e1001335
SAGE Research Methods
    SAGE Research Methods
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

SAGE Research Methods

SAGE Research Methods indexes full-text books, reference sources, the "little green book" series (Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences), the "little blue book" series (Qualitative Research Methods), journal articles, and videos. Since this platform focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used by researchers from the social sciences, health sciences, and more. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit searches by research method type. 1970s-present.  

Full record

Jun 19, 2012 e1001202
SAGE Research Methods Cases
    SAGE Research Methods Cases
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

SAGE Research Methods Cases

SAGE Research Methods Cases provides full-text case studies in HTML and PDF about methodological concepts in practice. Each case study has learning outcomes and discussion questions to guide understanding.  

Full record

Jul 1, 2014 e1001677
Sabin Americana 1500-1926 from Gale
    Sabin Americana
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Sabin Americana 1500-1926 from Gale

Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials, and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions, and much more.  

Full record

Jun 24, 2014 e1001697
Shepard's Citations from LexisNexis
    LexisNexis
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

Shepard's Citations from LexisNexis

Shepard's Citations  provides a comprehensive case citation and treatment history to verify the validity of case law, statutes, agency opinions, and other legal documents. Only case law is covered in LexisNexis Academic. The Shepard's Citations service also provides a report that shows every opinion where that case has been referenced.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000260
Social Science Research Network
    Social Science Research Network
This resource is freely accessible

Social Science Research Network

Social Science Research Network indexes citation, abstracts, and some full text of pre-prints and other scholarly research papers.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Social Sciences Citation Index from Thomson Reuters Web of Knowledge
    ISI Web of Science
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Social Sciences Citation Index from Thomson Web of Science

Social Science Citation Index, a subset of Web of Science, indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text from journal articles, books, and conference proceedings in all social science disciplines. You can search cited references. 1975-present (older data available in print).  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000190
Social Sciences in Forestry
    Social Sciences in Forestry
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Social Sciences in Forestry

Social Sciences in Forestry indexes citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and government documents concerning to the areas of legislation, policy and planning, management, economic development, investment, and finance in relation to forestry. 1985-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000220
Social Services Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Social Services Abstracts from ProQuest

Social Services Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, book reviews, and theses and dissertations in the social science fields of social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1979-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000069
Sociological Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Sociological Abstracts from ProQuest

Sociological Abstracts indexes abstracts and citations from journal articles, book reviews, books, conference papers, and theses and dissertations in the field of sociology, social and behavioral sciences, and related topics. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1952-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000070
Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
    SAGE journals online
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection

SAGE provides a collection of over 35 peer-reviewed journals with full-text articles (PDF) often back to volume one. You can search across this subject collection or our entire SAGE collection. 1952-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000380
SpringerLink ebooks
    SpringerLink
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

SpringerLink Ebooks

SpringerLink provides over 12,000 ebooks in architecture and design, business and economics, engineering and the physical sciences, the life sciences, medicine, humanities, and the social sciences. Each chapter is presented as a separate PDF. We have access to most English-language ebooks from 2005 forward (indicated with a green access icon).  

Full record

Jun 15, 2012
Sustainability Science Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Sustainability Science Abstracts from ProQuest

Sustainability Science Abstracts indexes abstracts and citations from journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, reports, theses, and dissertations in the fields of sustainable development, human population and demography, natural resource management, and conservation of natural resources. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1995-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000136