Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Research starter

This list includes databases in which you can begin many research topics. It includes databases catering to all levels of user, not just undergraduates. Content of these databases can include reference sources like encyclopedias or dictionaries; articles that give an overview of a topic, issue, controversy, or recent event; or that provide broad coverage to assist in narrowing or refining a research topic. After you have used these databases for background research on your topic, you can move on to more subject-specific databases.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
SAGE Research Methods
    SAGE Research Methods
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

SAGE Research Methods

SAGE Research Methods indexes full-text books, reference sources, the "little green book" series (Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences), the "little blue book" series (Qualitative Research Methods), journal articles, and videos. Since this platform focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used by researchers from the social sciences, health sciences, and more. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit searches by research method type. 1970s-present.  

Full record

Jun 19, 2012 e1001202
SAGE Research Methods Cases
    SAGE Research Methods Cases
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

SAGE Research Methods Cases

SAGE Research Methods Cases provides full-text case studies in HTML and PDF about methodological concepts in practice. Each case study has learning outcomes and discussion questions to guide understanding.  

Full record

Jul 1, 2014 e1001677
Scribner Writers from Gale

    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Scribner Writers from Gale

Scribner Writers provides full-text essays and literary works in HTML and PDF. It covers authors from around the world and all time periods.  

Full record

Aug 9, 2013 e1001644
Senses: A Comprehensive Reference from ScienceDirect
    ScienceDirect
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

The Senses: A Comprehensive Reference from ScienceDirect

Six volume work covering vision, audition, olfaction and taste, pain, and somatosensation. Full-text searchable and browsable by author, title, and subject. Each entry is a separate PDF.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000441
Something About the Author Online from Gale
    Gale Literature Criticism Online
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Something About the Author Online from Gale

Something About the Author Online provides full-text access to all volumes of Gale's reference set, Something About the Author, the main series, and Something About the Author: Autobiography Series, which contain illustrated biographical profiles of children's authors and illustrators. View scanned images of the entries or export PDFs. 1971-present.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000844