Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Social sciences and education

This subject category includes databases covering social sciences and human sciences, including anthropology, communication, education, history, human development, international studies, law, military science, political science, psychology, public administration, and sociology. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences, Architecture and Urban Studies, and the School of Education.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
TIGER/Line Files @ ICPSR
    ICPSR - InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only 

TIGER/Line Files @ ICPSR

TIGER/Line Files provides data sets from the Census Bureau's TIGER (Topologically Integrated Geographic Encoding and Referencing) database. Data for individual states can be downloaded.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000238
Teacher Reference Center from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Teacher Reference Center from EBSCOhost

Teacher Reference Center indexes abstracts, citations, and full-text articles from academic journals, magazines, directories, biographies, and case studies on all aspects of education.The full-text materials are available in both HTML and PDF formats. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1984-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000504
TeachingWithData.org from ICPSR
    ICPSR - InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

TeachingWithData.org from ICPSR

TeachingWitData.org provides data sets related to the social sciences that can be incorporated into classroom learning. The collection is especially relevant for courses in demography, economics, history, political science, public policy, social psychology, and sociology but would also enhance courses in areas such as education, environmental science, family studies, and public health.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000238
Terrorism and Preparedness Data Resource Center (TPDRC) from ICPSR
    ICPSR - InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Terrorism and Preparedness Data Resource Center (TPDRC) from ICPSR

TPDRC provides data sets on national and international survey data and related research materials about terrorism, homeland security, and preparedness. It also indexes bibliographic records on publications related to this data.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000238
Toxicology Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Toxicology Abstracts from ProQuesty

Toxicology Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, technical reports, patents, theses, and dissertations on the science, medical, and social science aspects of toxic substances. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1981-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000072