Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Research starter

This list includes databases in which you can begin many research topics. It includes databases catering to all levels of user, not just undergraduates. Content of these databases can include reference sources like encyclopedias or dictionaries; articles that give an overview of a topic, issue, controversy, or recent event; or that provide broad coverage to assist in narrowing or refining a research topic. After you have used these databases for background research on your topic, you can move on to more subject-specific databases.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Treatise on Geophysics from ScienceDirect
    ScienceDirect
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Treatise on Geophysics from ScienceDirect

The Treatise on Geophysics provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on geophysics: seismology, structure of the earth, minerals, geodesy, geomagnetism, evolution of the earth, and planets and moons. References linked via CrossRef, which generates a Get VText window.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000893
Twayne's Authors from Gale
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Twayne's Authors from Gale

Twayne's Authors provides full-text ebooks in HTML and PDF (plus MP3) of nearly 900 literary criticism reference works. It covers author, their works, and literary movements from all time periods, but focuses on the 17th-20th centuries.  

Full record

Aug 9, 2013 e1001643