Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

General interest

This subject category includes databases are either basic or broad in scope. They include resources that cover multiple subject areas, such as general purpose encyclopedias, large article indexing databases, or newspaper article indexing databases.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
U.S. Census Data from ICPSR
    ICPSR - InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

U.S. Census Data from ICPSR

ICPSR provides both census microdata and aggregate data acquired from the Census Bureau. Microdata is the individual responses to census questions while aggregate data contains tabulations of the individual responses at various levels, such as states, counties, and census tracts. 1940s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000238
U.S. Government Manual
    FDSys
This resource is freely accessible

U.S. Government Manual

The United States Government Manual provides information in ASCII text and PDF on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees. The Manual begins with reprints of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution. 1995/96-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
UNBISnet from the United Nations
    UN Bibliographic Information System
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

UNBISnet from the United Nations

UNBISnet is a catalog of United Nations documents, plus commercial publications and other non-UN sources held at the Dag Hammarskjöld Library. Some documents are available in full text. 1979-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) global database
    UNESCO
This resource is freely accessible

UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) global database

UIS provides statistics tables related to UNESCO's interests: education, literacy, science and technology, culture, and communication. View pre-defined tables or build your own by selecting countries, indicators, and years. Tables can be downloaded in spreadsheet formats or exported to PDFs. 

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
UNdata from the United Nations Statistics Division
    UN Data
This resource is freely accessible

UNdata from the United Nations Statistics Division

UNdata indexes data and statistics compiled by United Nations divisions, including official statistics produced by countries and compiled by United Nations data system, as well as estimates and projections. The domains covered are agriculture, crime, education, energy, industry, labour, national accounts, population and tourism. You can also find indicators such as Millennium Development Goals. Data can be downloaded in statistical software formats.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
USA.gov
    USA.gov
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

USA.gov

USA.gov is an easy-to-search, free-access website designed to give you a centralized place to find information from U.S. local, state, and federal government agency websites.

Full record

Jul 21, 2011
USPTO Patent Full-Text and Image Database
    US Patent and Trademark Office
This resource is freely accessible

USPTO Patent Full-Text and Image Database

The USPTO Patent Full-Text and Image Database indexes information about patents, plus provides full text of patents since 1976 and full-page images of all patents in TIFF format. 1790-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
UlrichsWeb - Ulrich's Periodical Directory
    Ulrich's Periodical Directory
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

UlrichsWeb - Ulrich's Periodical Directory

UlrichsWeb provides information about periodicals: whether a journal is peer reviewed, scholarly, trade, or popular; in which databases it is indexed; publication dates and title changes; and links to Journal Citation Reports for impact factors. Use the Get VText links to see local date coverage.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000127