Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Social sciences and education

This subject category includes databases covering social sciences and human sciences, including anthropology, communication, education, history, human development, international studies, law, military science, political science, psychology, public administration, and sociology. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences, Architecture and Urban Studies, and the School of Education.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Westlaw
    Westlaw
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Westlaw

Westlaw is a primary online legal research service containing proprietary database services. Information resources on Westlaw include more than 40,000 databases of case law, state and federal statutes, administrative codes, newspaper and magazine articles, public records, law journals, law reviews, treatises, legal forms and other information resources. Access is via individual password, available on request from the law librarian. Westlaw is contractually restricted to persons accessing data for educational purposes directly related to student coursework or for scholarly research.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000776
Women and Social Movements in the United States: 1600-2000
    Women and Social Movements
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Women and Social Movements in the United States: 1600-2000

Women and Social Movements in the US indexes citations and full text of primary documents and archives; book, film, and website reviews; teaching tools; a directory of organizations; and a chronology of women's history. 1745-present.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000142
Women's Studies International from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Women's Studies International from EBSCOhost

Women's Studies International  indexes abstracts, citations, and full-text articles from academic journals, newspapers, magazines, newsletters, bulletins, books, conference proceedings, working papers, pamphlets, reports, theses, and dissertations in the arts, humanities, business, social sciences, and education. Full-text material is available in HTML and PDF formats. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1972-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000654
World Bank Group Data Catalog
    Worldbank Data
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

World Bank Group Databases

The World Bank Group Databases provides access to searchable databases on economics, education, and social science data. Many of the databases can be downloaded in database or spreadsheet format.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
World Public Opinion
    World Public Opinion
This resource is freely accessible

World Public Opinion

World Public Opinion provides full-text opinion articles, survey summaries, and questionnaires in HTML and PDF, plus datasets in statistical database formats. 2001-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
World Treaty Index
    World Treaty Index
This resource is freely accessible

World Treaty Index

The World Treaty Index provides citations of treaties signed in the 20th century. The data can be downloaded in spreadsheet formats. 1945-1999.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts from ProQuest

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, books, essays, book reviews, working papers, technical reports, theses, and dissertations in the social sciences related to politics. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1975-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000248