Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Catalogs (about publications)

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • Bibliographic tools that give additional information about a resource
  • Some include analytical tools or reviews about resources
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
AGRICOLA from USDA (NAL Catalog)
    National Agriculture Library
This resource is freely accessible

AGRICOLA from USDA (NAL Catalog)

Two databases are included: books, serials, audiovisuals, and other resources held by NAL and its cooperators, and a Journal Article Citation Index covering articles dated 1985-present. Covers all aspects of agriculture, life sciences, nutrition, and environmental science.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000172
AIAA Aerospace Research Central
    American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

AIAA Aerospace Research Central

Includes full text of AIAA journal articles and technical papers from 1963 - present as PDFs, as well as full text of the publications of the American Rocket Society and the Institute of the Aerospace Sciences, 1930 - 1962. Citations (not full text) of AIAA standards are also available. See the or detailed instructions on finding AIAA documents.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000204
ASME Digital Collection
    American Society of Mechanical Engineers
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ASME Digital Collection

Full-text archive of American Society of Mechanical Engineers Transaction journals and conference proceedings (PDFs), and citations and abstracts of ASME ebook publications. Journals 1980-present, conference proceedings 2002-2007.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000386
Access to Archival Databases (AAD) from NARA
    National Archives
This resource is freely accessible

Access to Archival Databases (AAD) from NARA

Provides access to records preserved permanently by the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). Out of the nearly 200,000 data files in its holdings, NARA has selected approximately 475 of them for public searching through AAD. These data were selected because the records identify specific persons, geographic areas, organizations, and dates. The records cover a wide variety of civilian and military functions and have many genealogical, social, political, and economic research uses. 1800s-present

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Addison Mobile
    Addison Mobile
This resource is freely accessible This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link

Addison Mobile

Mobile (small screen) interface to the library catalog. Tested on Apple iPhone and iPod Touch, BlackBerry Storm and Bold 900, Motorola Droid, HTC Droid Eris, and Palm Pre. Provides more limited catalog record data than regular Addison. Users can submit requests through this version.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Addison, the Virginia Tech library catalog
    Addison
This resource is freely accessible This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

Addison, the Virginia Tech library catalog

Addison includes records on most items owns by the VT Libraries, including books and ebooks, journals and ejournals, videos and DVDs, music CDs and cassettes, government documents, theses and dissertations, manuscripts, newspapers, microforms, software, and more. Physical items are linked to location maps. Electronic items will link to the online source. You can restrict searches by locations (library branches) or format.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Alcohol Studies Database from Rutgers
    Alcohol Studies Database
This resource is freely accessible

Alcohol Studies Database from Rutgers

Contains over 80,000 citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and audio-visual materials. Also includes a small collection of educational and prevention materials, including audiovisuals, suitable for students and educators K-12, parents, community workers, and the general public. 1987-present

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
American Journeys
    American Journeys
This resource is freely accessible

American Journeys

American Journeys indexes the full text of more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later. Read the words of explorers, Indians, missionaries, traders and settlers as they lived through the founding moments of American history. Includes more than 150 rare books, original manuscripts, and classic travel narratives. 1000s-1840s

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
American Memory from the Library of Congress
    Library of Congress
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon Gold open access - publishing

American Memory from the Library of Congress

American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress’s digitized American historical materials, organized into more than 100 thematic collections. Original formats include manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music. Each collection provides explanatory features to make the materials easy to find, use, and understand. Collections may be browsed individually, searched individually (including full-text searching for many written items), or searched across multiple collections. 1400s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Animal Health and Production Compendium from CABI
    Centre for Agricultural Bioscience International
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Animal Health and Production Compendium from CABI

Animal Health and Production Compendium (AHPC) provides detailed information on agricultural and biological sciences. It contains datasheets (HTML and PDF) on livestock and the diseases that affect them, datasheets on food safety and quality, and datasheets on countries' statistical data on animal and economic production. It also provides PDF and HTML full-text documents on all aspects of food animals as well as an index to citations for agricultural publications and nearly 2,000 images. A geographic database contains country distribution data for diseases and breeds for use with GIS software. 1910s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1001008
Année philologique
    L'Annee philologique

L'Annee philologique

L'Année philologique (The Year in Philology) is a print index contains citations of all known scholarly work published in any language anywhere in the world in the areas of ancient Greek and Latin language and linguistics, Greek and Roman history, literature, philosophy, art, archaeology, religion, mythology, music, science, early Christian texts, numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy. Each entry offers a one- or two-sentence summary of the content. Includes coverage of conference proceedings and book reviews. Coverage begins in 200 BCE and ends roughly in 800 AD.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 b1276076
Archival Research Catalog (ARC) from the National Archives
    Archival Research Catalog
This resource is freely accessible

Archival Research Catalog (ARC) from the National Archives

ARC is the online catalog of the National Archives' nationwide holdings. This catalog displays descriptions of record groups and collections, series, file units, and items. Some content has been digitized, including historical documents, photographs, and images. 

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Archive Finder (C19) from Chadwych-Healey
    C19 The nineteenth centure index
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Archive Finder C19 from Chadwyck-Healey

Archive Finder is a current directory of repositories and collections of primary source material across the United States, including Special Collections at Virginia Tech. Using Archive Finder, researchers can read descriptions of a repository's holdings to determine whether a collection contains material relevant to their work as well as find the information they need to contact the repository directly.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000431
ArchiveGrid from OCLC
    Archive Grid
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

ArchiveGrid from OCLC

ArchiveGrid indexes descriptions of archival material (such as we keep in our Special Collections) in libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives. Contact information for the source archive is provided.

Full record

May 3, 2013
Art and Architecture Drawings Database
    Art + Architecture Drawings Database
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible

Art + Architecture Drawings Database

Contains over 400 architecture plan sets held in the Art + Architecture Library at Virginia Tech. The collection concentrates on American architecture of the late 20th century and includes plan sets specific to the Virginia Tech campus and Blacksburg. 

Full record

Sep 13, 2010