Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and almanacs

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • Encyclopedias, dictionaries, glossaries, almanacs, and other reference sources used to give researchers a starting point when in an unfamiliar area
  • Includes general and subject-specific sources
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Acronyms, Initialisms & Abbreviations Dictionary from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Acronyms, Initialisms & Abbreviations Dictionary from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Acronyms, Initialisms & Abbreviations provides terms in all disciplines. It includes international, national, regional, and state associations, political action committees, research centers, stock exhange symbols, and car, motorcycle, and truck models and makes.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
African American Study Center from Oxford
    African American Study Center from Oxford
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

African American Studies Center from Oxford

The African American Studies Center provides full-text articles from encyclopedias and other references sources, plus primary sources with commentary, maps, charts, and biographies on African and African-American history, culture, literature, education, and the arts.  

Full record

Jan 20, 2011 e1000860
All that JAS (Journal Abbreviation Sources)
    Journal Abbreviation Sources
This resource is freely accessible

All that JAS (Journal Abbreviation Sources)

A registry of Web resources that list or provide access to the full title of journal abbreviations. Key sources included [use these first] include ISI Journal Abbreviations and Gale Group title lists.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
America's Historical Imprints from Newsbank-Readex
    Newsbank Readex
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

America's Historical Imprints from Newsbank-Readex

America's Historical Imprints is a digital collection containing virtually every book, pamphlet, and broadside published in America over a 200-year period. It is comprised of a vast range of publications, including advertisements, almanacs, bibles, broadsides, catalogs, charters and by-laws, contracts, cookbooks, elegies, eulogies, laws, maps, narratives, novels, operas, pamphlets, plays, poems, primers, sermons, songs, speeches, textbooks, tracts, travelogues, treaties, and more. Scanned pages available as JPEG, TIFF, and PDF.  

Full record

Jan 3, 2012 e1000847
America: History and Life from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

America: History and Life from EBSCOhost

America: History and Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database includes citations and links to journal articles, dissertations, primary documents, and book and media reviews. Some content is available full-text (PDF and HTML). Allows limiting to peer reviewed articles, those with references, and to historical periods (date ranges). 1863-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000120
American Inaugurals: The Speeches, The Presidents, and Their Times from Gale Virtual Reference Online
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

American Inaugurals: The Speeches, The Presidents, and Their Times from Gale Virtual Reference Library

American Inaugurals presents the inaugural address of the U.S. president from George Washington through George W. Bush. It includes a brief biography, a list of important events during the president's term of office, the actual text of the speech (in HTML and PDF), and notable quotes, plus portraits and reproductions of period paints, photos, and engravings.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
American Men & Women of Science: A Biographical Directory of Today's Leaders in Physical, Biological, and Related Sciences from Gale Virtual Reference Online
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

American Men & Women of Science: A Biographical Directory of Today's Leaders in Physical, Biological, and Related Sciences from Gale Virtual Reference Library

American Men & Women of Science provides full-text biographical entries in HTML and PDF of living persons in the physical and biological fields, as well as public health scientists, engineers, mathematicians, statisticians, and computer scientists.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
American National Biography Online from Oxford
    American National Biography Online from Oxford
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

American National Biography Online from Oxford

American National Biography provides HTML full-text biographical entries and over 2,700 illustrations on 18,700 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. It includes access to The Oxford Companion to United States History encyclopedia with entries on all aspects of American history.   

Full record

Feb 14, 2012 e1000861
Americans at War from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Americans at War from Gale Virtual Reference Library

American at War provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on American wars from the 1500s until 2004. A topic outline assists readers who wish to focus on a particular issue, such as civil liberties, that appears in all volumes.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Animal Health and Production Compendium from CABI
    Centre for Agricultural Bioscience International
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Animal Health and Production Compendium from CABI

Animal Health and Production Compendium (AHPC) provides detailed information on agricultural and biological sciences. It contains datasheets (HTML and PDF) on livestock and the diseases that affect them, datasheets on food safety and quality, and datasheets on countries' statistical data on animal and economic production. It also provides PDF and HTML full-text documents on all aspects of food animals as well as an index to citations for agricultural publications and nearly 2,000 images. A geographic database contains country distribution data for diseases and breeds for use with GIS software. 1910s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1001008
Aquaculture Compendia Online from CABI
    Centre for Agricultural Bioscience International
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Aquaculture Compendia Online from CABI

Aquaculture Compendia is an encyclopedic resource covering all aspects of aquaculture, including aquatic animal and plant production, natural resources and environment, biodiversity, trade, food security and safety, and social issues. It provides datasheets, book chapters, article citations, case studies, a glossary, geographic and country data, and pictures. Some full text in PDF. 1932-present. Limit to   simultaneous users.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000144
Art and Architecture Thesaurus from Getty
    Getty
This resource is freely accessible

Art and Architecture Thesaurus from Getty

The AAT is a structured vocabulary of around 34,000 concepts, including 131,000 terms, descriptions, bibliographic citations, and other information relating to fine art, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, and material culture. Use terms located here for searches in other databases.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Art and Architecture encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Art and Architecture encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across ten subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 25,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Astronomical Almanac Online
    Astronomical Almanac
This resource is freely accessible

Astronomical Almanac Online

Online version of the Astronomical Almanac, a joint publication of the Nautical Almanac Office in the United States and Her Majesty's Nautical Almanac Office (HMNAO) in the United Kingdom.The Astronomical Almanac Online does not duplicate all the data from the book. It does, in some cases, provide additional information or greater precision than the printed data. Updates to this site occur regularly and accompany the publication of the book. Data tables presented in HTML, PDF, and ASCII.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000708
Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on more than 1200 animals and plants that occur in North America that were identified before 2004 by the Fish and Wildlife Service as endangered or threatened. Most entries will also include one or more full-color images of the species described.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Black Literature Criticism: Classic and Emerging Authors since 1950 from Gale Virtal Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Black Literature Criticism: Classic and Emerging Authors since 1950 from Gale Virtal Reference Library

Black Literature Criticism: Classic and Emerging Authors since 1950 provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on selective works of African American literature, including works of African and Carribean authors. Entries include biographical data, overviews of literary interests, summaries of works, and critical commentary. Many entries include an author portrait.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Chemistry: Foundations and Applications from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Chemistry: Foundations and Applications from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Chemistry: Foundations and Applications provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on all aspects of chemistry, including biographies of prominent chemists.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Climate Change: In Context from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Climate Change: In Context from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Climate Change: In Context provides full-text reference article in HTML and PDF on the science and social science aspects of climate change, including a chronology of events and a glossary of terminology.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Everyday Finance: Economics, Personal Money Management, and Entrepreneurship from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Everyday Finance: Economics, Personal Money Management, and Entrepreneurship from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Everyday Finance provides full-text essays on HTML and PDF the business and economics aspects of finance. It also includes images, tables, charts, and a glossary of financial terms.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Governments of the World: A Global Guide to Citizens' Rights and Responsibilities from Gale
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Governments of the World: A Global Guide to Citizens' Rights and Responsibilities from Gale

Governments of the World provides articles in HTML and PDF about governments, political issues, and citizen politics in 198 regions, including every independent nation of the world and several territories under the jurisdiction of sovereign countries, plus international courts and entities.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
History in Dispute Vols. 1-21 from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

History in Dispute Vols. 1-21 from Gale Virtual Reference Library

History in Dispute provides full-text essays in HTML and PDF on a thematic, era, or subject-specific focus Features include excerpts from primary source documents to illuminate the viewpoints presented with each entry; photographs and drawings of individuals, sites, objects or documents pertinent to the event or topic; and a chronological list of events.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family from Gale Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family from Gale Virtual Reference Library

The International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family, Second Edition provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on international perspectives and issues surrounding marriage and family. It includes articles specific to countries and to religious traditions, examining the history of family life within these cultures, and discussing how families have been affected by political and social change.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences from Gale Virtual Reference Library

The International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on a broad spectrum of the social sciences, including the arts, economics, psychology, psychiatry, and religion.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Literary Themes for Students: Race and Prejudice from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Literary Themes for Students: Race and Prejudice from Gale from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Literary Themes for Students: Race and Prejudice provides full-text essays in HTML and PDF on race and prejudice in literature.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Literary Themes for Students: The American Dream from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Literary Themes for Students: The American Dream from Gale from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Literary Themes for Students: The American Dream provides full-text essays on HTML and PDF on the theme of the American dream.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Literary Themes for Students: War and Peace from Gale from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Literary Themes for Students: War and Peace from Gale from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Literary Themes for Students: War and Peace provided full-text essays in HTML and PDF on the theme of war and peace in literature.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Nutrition and Well-Being A to Z from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Nutrition and Well-Being A to Z from Gale

Nutrition and Well-Being A to Z is a searchable and browseable encyclopedia covering topics in general nutrition, food science, and human development.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Pollution A to Z from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Pollution A to Z from Gale Virtual Reference Library

This online encyclopedia provides information on a variety of pollution issues, including sources of pollution; disposal; remediation; and the ethical, social and legal environment, as well as topics such as acid rain, cancer, noise pollution and zero growth population. It also covers careers and biographies of key people. For academic and general audiences.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Psychology of Classroom Learning: An Encyclopedia from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Psychology of Classroom Learning: An Encyclopedia from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Psychology of Classroom Learning: An Encyclopedia provides full-text articles in HTML on the psychological aspects of education.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film from Gale Virtual reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film from Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory, and film history.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans from Gale Virtual Reference Online
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans provides comprehensive information on sources of education-related financial aid sponsored and administered by private organizations and companies. It covers a variety of programs in all educational areas, including area and ethnic studies, business, computer science, education, liberal arts, medicine, physical sciences, theology and religion, and more.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Shakespeare for Students: Critical Interpretations of Shakespeare's Plays and Poetry from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Shakespeare for Students: Critical Interpretations of Shakespeare's Plays and Poetry from Gale Virtual Reference Library

A collection of essays by Shakespeare scholars that have been selected for students at the high school or undergraduate college level. Each entry includes an introduction; a plot synopsis; a character list; a discussion of the work's principal themes; information about the style and literary devices used; a conversation about the work's historical context; and a critical overview. Full text available as HTML and PDF.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Tobacco in History and Culture: An Encyclopedia from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Tobacco in History and Culture: An Encyclopedia from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Tobacco in History and Culture: An Encyclopedia provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on the agricultural, medical, social, and chemical aspects of tobacco and smoking.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Volume 01, The cold war: First series
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

History in Dispute, Vol. 1: The Cold War: First Series from Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Cold War: First Series provides full-text essays in HTML and PDF on issues surrounding the Cold War.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Volume 02, American Social and Political Movements, 1945-2000: American Social and Political Movements
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

History in Dispute, Vol. 2: American Social and Political Movements, 1945-2000: Pursuit of Liberty from Gale Virtual Reference Library

American Social and Political Movements, 1945-2000 provides full-text essays in HTML and PDF on social issues in the 20th century. 

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Volume 03, American Social and Political Movements, 1900-1945: Pursuit of Progress
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

History in Dispute, Vol. 3: American Social and Political Movements, 1900-1945: Pursuit of Progress from Gale Virtual Reference Library

American Social and Political Movements, 1900-1945 provides full-text essays in HTML and PDF on social issues in the first half of the 20th century.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Volume 04, World War II, 1939-1943
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

History in Dispute, Vol. 4: World War II, 1939-1943 from Gale Virtual Reference Library

World War II, 1939-1943 provides full-text essays on issues and people in the early years of the war.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Volume 05, World War II, 1943-1945
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

History in Dispute, Vol. 5: World War II, 1943-1945 from Gale Virtual Reference Library

World War II, 1943-1945 provides full-text essays in HTML and PDF on issues and people related to the later years of the war.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Volume 06, The Cold War: Second Series
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

History in Dispute, Vol. 6: The Cold War: Second Series from Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Cold War: Second Series provides full-text essays in HTML and PDF on people and issues surrounding the Cold War.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Volume 07, Water and the Environment Since 1945: Global Perspectives
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

History in Dispute, Vol. 7: Water and the Environment Since 1945: Global Perspectives from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Water and the Environment Since 1945 provides full-text essays in HTML and PDF on issues and places related to the environment in the later half of the 20th century.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Volume 08, World War I: First Series
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

History in Dispute, Vol. 8: World War I: First Series from Gale Virtual Reference Library

World War I: First Series provided full-text essays in HTML and PDF on issues, battles, and people involved in World War I.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Volume 09, World War I: Second Series
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Vol. 9: World War I: Second Series from Gale Virtual Reference Library

World War I: Second Series provides full-text essays in HTML and PDF on the people, places, issues, and battles during World War I.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Volume 10, The Crusades, 1095-1291
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Vol. 9: World War I: Second Series from Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Crusades, 1095-1291 provides full-text essays in HTML and PDF on the people, places, and cultures involved in the crusades.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Volume 11, The Holocaust, 1933-1945
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

History in Dispute, Vol. 11: The Holocaust, 1933-1945 from Gale Virtual Rerference Library

The Holocaust, 193-1945 provides full-text essays in HTML and PDF on the people and issues surrounding the Holocaust.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Volume 12, The American Revolution, 1763-1789
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

History in Dispute, Vol. 12: The American Revolution, 1763-1789 from Gale Virtual Reference Library

The American Revolution, 1763-1789 provides full-text essays in HTML and PDF on the people, places, and issues related to the American Revolution.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Volume 13, Slavery in the Western Hemisphere, circa 1500-1888
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

History in Dispute, Vol. 13: Slavery in the Western Hemisphere, circa 1500-1888 from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Slavery in the Western Hemisphere provides full-text essays in HTML and PDF on the issues, peoples, and economics surrounding slavery.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Volume 14, The Middle East since 1945: First Series
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

History in Dispute, Vol. 14: The Middle East Since 1945: First Series from Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Middle East Since 1945, First Series provided full-text essays in HTML and PDF on the issues, places, and people of recent concern in the Middle East.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Volume 15, The Middle East Since 1945: Second Series
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

History in Dispute, Vol. 15: The Middle East Since 1945: Second Series from Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Middle East Since 1945: Second Series provides full-text essays in HTML and PDF on historical events in the Middle East until the 1990s.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Volume 16, Twentieth-century European Social and Political Movements: First Series
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

History in Dispute, Vol. 16: Twentieth-Century European Social and Political Movements: First Series from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Twentieth-Century European Social and Political Movements: First Series provides full-text essays in HTML and PDF on the politics, diplomacy, history, and military affairs in modern Europe.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Volume 17, Twentieth-century European Social and Political Movements: Second Series
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

History in Dispute, Vol. 17: Twentieth-Century European Social and Political Movements: Second Series from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Twentieth-Century European Social and Political Movements: Second Series provides full-text essays in HTML and PDF on disputed questions of culture, society, ideas, and economics in modern Europe.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Volume 18, The Spanish Civil War
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

History in Dispute, Vol. 18: The Spanish Civil War from Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Spanish Civil War provides full-text essays in HTML and PDF on the people, issues, and culture surrounding the Spanish Civil War.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Volume 19, The Red Scare After 1945
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

History in Dispute, Vol. 19: The Red Scare After 1945 from Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Red Scare After 1945 provides full-text essays hat debate the nature of American Communism, the reasons the Red Scare emerged, the role of FBI head J. Edgar Hoover, the significance of Joseph R. McCarthy, the effects of the Red Scare on civil liberties, labor, minorities, and culture. It examines the well-known cases, the legal issues, the legacies, and the lessons of the Red Scare.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Volume 20, Classical Antiquity and Classical Studies
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

History in Dispute Vols. 1-21 from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Classical Antiquity and Classical Studies provides full-text essays in HTML and PDF on the people and culture of the classical period, 750 B.C.E to fifth century C.E.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Volume 21, Revolutionary Russia 1890-1930
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

History in Dispute, Vol. 21: Revolutionary Russia, 1890-1930 from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Revolutionary Russia, 1890-1930 provides full-text essays in HTML and PDF on the political, social, cultural, economic, and military issues surrounding the Russian revolution.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Water: Science and Issues from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Water: Science and Issues from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Water: Science and Issues provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on the natural resource, life science, physical science and technology, and economic aspects of water. Biographies, photos, and a glossary are also included.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Who's Who Among African Americans from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Who's Who Among African Americans from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Who's Who Among African Americans provides full-text biographical entries for more then 20,000 men and women.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876