Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Freely accessible databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • This database has no access restrictions; it is freely accessible to anyone online.
  • Some databases provide free access to some content, but not all content; check the database description for details.
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
3D Domains from NLM
    Entrez databases from NLM
This resource is freely accessible

  3D Domains from NLM

3D Domains are compact structural domains identified automatically in MMDB, Entrez's macromolecular three-dimensional structure database. 3D Domains are the units of comparison for structure neighbor calculations using the VAST algorithm. Links to VAST or 3D Domain neighbors display 3D Domains (and complete polypeptide chains) with similar 3D structures.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
AGRICOLA from USDA (NAL Catalog)
    National Agriculture Library
This resource is freely accessible

AGRICOLA from USDA (NAL Catalog)

Two databases are included: books, serials, audiovisuals, and other resources held by NAL and its cooperators, and a Journal Article Citation Index covering articles dated 1985-present. Covers all aspects of agriculture, life sciences, nutrition, and environmental science.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000172
AGRIS from FAO
    Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
This resource is freely accessibleContents of this resource available through Summon

AGRIS from FAO

AGRIS is a full-text repository and citation index created by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations to facilitate information exchange and to identify world literature dealing with all aspects of agriculture. It is particularly strong in literature from developing countries. AGRIS covers the wide range of subjects related to agriculture, including forestry, animal husbandry, aquatic sciences and fisheries, human nutrition, and extension. Its content includes unique grey literature such as unpublished scientific and technical reports, theses, conference papers, government publications, and more. Full text available in PDF and HTML. 1975-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000194
AQUASTAT from FAO
    Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

AQUASTAT from FAO

AQUASTAT collects, analyzes, and disseminates information on water resources, water uses, and agricultural water management with an emphasis on countries in Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean. Information and datasets are available by country on land use and population, climate and water resource, water use, by sector and by source, irrigation and drainage development, and environment and health. 1958-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
ASCE Civil Engineering Database
    ASCE Civil Engineering Database
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

ASCE Civil Engineering Database

The Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) indexes citations for all ASCE publications. The database covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers published by ASCE. Journal papers with abstracts go back to 1970. Non-abstract journal records go back to 1958. The book records are complete dating back to the early 1900s.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000747
Access to Archival Databases (AAD) from NARA
    National Archives
This resource is freely accessible

Access to Archival Databases (AAD) from NARA

Provides access to records preserved permanently by the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). Out of the nearly 200,000 data files in its holdings, NARA has selected approximately 475 of them for public searching through AAD. These data were selected because the records identify specific persons, geographic areas, organizations, and dates. The records cover a wide variety of civilian and military functions and have many genealogical, social, political, and economic research uses. 1800s-present

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Addison Mobile
    Addison Mobile
This resource is freely accessible This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link

Addison Mobile

Mobile (small screen) interface to the library catalog. Tested on Apple iPhone and iPod Touch, BlackBerry Storm and Bold 900, Motorola Droid, HTC Droid Eris, and Palm Pre. Provides more limited catalog record data than regular Addison. Users can submit requests through this version.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Addison, the Virginia Tech library catalog
    Addison
This resource is freely accessible This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

Addison, the Virginia Tech library catalog

Addison includes records on most items owns by the VT Libraries, including books and ebooks, journals and ejournals, videos and DVDs, music CDs and cassettes, government documents, theses and dissertations, manuscripts, newspapers, microforms, software, and more. Physical items are linked to location maps. Electronic items will link to the online source. You can restrict searches by locations (library branches) or format.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
AgEcon Search from the University of Minnesota
    AgEcon
This resource is freely accessible

AgEcon Search from the University of Minnesota

Open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in the broadly defined field of agricultural economics including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development. The majority of items in AgEcon Search are working papers, conference papers, and journal articles, although other types such as books chapters and government documents are included. Many sources are peer reviewed and content is delivered as PDFs. 1922-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
AgNIC
    Agriculture Information Network Center
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

AgNIC

AgNIC indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text from journals, reports, image collections, and more from many partner libraries and institutions.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP)
    Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP)

The Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP) is a subject index to citations of significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals. 1988-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Alcohol Studies Database from Rutgers
    Alcohol Studies Database
This resource is freely accessible

Alcohol Studies Database from Rutgers

Contains over 80,000 citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and audio-visual materials. Also includes a small collection of educational and prevention materials, including audiovisuals, suitable for students and educators K-12, parents, community workers, and the general public. 1987-present

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
All that JAS (Journal Abbreviation Sources)
    Journal Abbreviation Sources
This resource is freely accessible

All that JAS (Journal Abbreviation Sources)

A registry of Web resources that list or provide access to the full title of journal abbreviations. Key sources included [use these first] include ISI Journal Abbreviations and Gale Group title lists.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
American Journeys
    American Journeys
This resource is freely accessible

American Journeys

American Journeys indexes the full text of more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later. Read the words of explorers, Indians, missionaries, traders and settlers as they lived through the founding moments of American history. Includes more than 150 rare books, original manuscripts, and classic travel narratives. 1000s-1840s

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
American Memory from the Library of Congress
    Library of Congress
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon Gold open access - publishing

American Memory from the Library of Congress

American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress’s digitized American historical materials, organized into more than 100 thematic collections. Original formats include manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music. Each collection provides explanatory features to make the materials easy to find, use, and understand. Collections may be browsed individually, searched individually (including full-text searching for many written items), or searched across multiple collections. 1400s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography from Greenwood
    Greenwood
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography from Greenwood

American Slavery contains both an overview of the collection of former slave narratives with related links (available without charge from the home page) and the collection of narratives themselves. Each narrative is delivered as a PDF as originally transcribed, with some interviews available as sound files. Searchable by name of narrator, interviewer, or master, the county or state where the narrator lived in slavery, the narrator's age or year of birth, or the location of the material in the print version (volume and page). 1920s-1940s (original interviews).  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000149
Animal Drugs @ FDA
    FDA
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Animal Drugs @ FDA

Replaces the Database of Approved Animal Drug Products or Green Book, a database that was previously developed and managed by the Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine (VMRCVM) Drug Information Laboratory. Allows users to search for detailed descriptions of all FDA-approved new animal drugs, including patents.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
AnimalBase
    AnimalBase
This resource is freely accessible

AnimalBase

AnimalBase provides copyright-free open access to zoological works and provides manually verified lists of names of zoological genera and species. It includes digitized books and journal articles, most from prior to 1900, in their original language. Documents display as scanned images; many can be downloaded as PDFs. You can also search or browse by species, genus, or family. 350 BCE-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Archival Research Catalog (ARC) from the National Archives
    Archival Research Catalog
This resource is freely accessible

Archival Research Catalog (ARC) from the National Archives

ARC is the online catalog of the National Archives' nationwide holdings. This catalog displays descriptions of record groups and collections, series, file units, and items. Some content has been digitized, including historical documents, photographs, and images. 

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
ArchiveGrid from OCLC
    Archive Grid
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

ArchiveGrid from OCLC

ArchiveGrid indexes descriptions of archival material (such as we keep in our Special Collections) in libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives. Contact information for the source archive is provided.

Full record

May 3, 2013
Art and Architecture Drawings Database
    Art + Architecture Drawings Database
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible

Art + Architecture Drawings Database

Contains over 400 architecture plan sets held in the Art + Architecture Library at Virginia Tech. The collection concentrates on American architecture of the late 20th century and includes plan sets specific to the Virginia Tech campus and Blacksburg. 

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Art and Architecture Thesaurus from Getty
    Getty
This resource is freely accessible

Art and Architecture Thesaurus from Getty

The AAT is a structured vocabulary of around 34,000 concepts, including 131,000 terms, descriptions, bibliographic citations, and other information relating to fine art, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, and material culture. Use terms located here for searches in other databases.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Astronomical Almanac Online
    Astronomical Almanac
This resource is freely accessible

Astronomical Almanac Online

Online version of the Astronomical Almanac, a joint publication of the Nautical Almanac Office in the United States and Her Majesty's Nautical Almanac Office (HMNAO) in the United Kingdom.The Astronomical Almanac Online does not duplicate all the data from the book. It does, in some cases, provide additional information or greater precision than the printed data. Updates to this site occur regularly and accompany the publication of the book. Data tables presented in HTML, PDF, and ASCII.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000708
Astrophysics Data System Abstract Service from SAO/NASA
    SAO/NASA
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Astrophysics Data System Abstract Service from SAO/NASA

Search or browse full text and citations to articles, conference proceedings, reports, data catalogs, dissertations, and digitized books in astronomy and astrophysics. Includes scans of  historical astronomical publications. 1800s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Austrailian Patents from IP Australia
    Austrailian Patents from IP Australia
This resource is freely accessible

Austrailian Patents from IP Australia

Australian patents and patent applications from 1998-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
arXiv.org from Cornell University Library
    arXiv
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon Green open access - self archiving

arXiv.org from Cornell University Library

ArXiv is a highly-automated electronic, open archive and distribution server for research articles in engineering and the physical sciences. Full text available in a variety of formats, including PDF, HTML, and PS.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010