Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Multimedia

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • Predominantly resources where it only searches, or is possible to limit searches, to multimedia format types, including audio, video, and images, with a scholarly application
  • Scanned and electronically produced images of maps go here; GIS data appears in Statistics and data sets
  • Scanned images of music scores appear in Music Recordings and scores
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
AGU Digital Library
    American Geophysical Union
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

AGU Digital Library

The AGU Digital Library indexes citations, abstracts, and full text of more than 100 years of Earth and space science research. Cited By references are available for many articles. Lectures/interviews are provided via streaming video. Some book content is available as full-text PDFs, other books provide abstracts to chapters/sections. 1896-1995. Limited to   simultaneous users.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000741
Africa Knowledge Project
    African Knowledge Project
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Africa Knowledge Project

The Africa Knowledge Project indexes the full text of articles, reports, dissertations, short stories and folktales, plus audio and music files on Africa and the African diaspora. 1968-present.   

Full record

Mar 13, 2012 e1001175
African Music Database from Africa Knowledge Project
    African Knowledge Project
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

African Music Database from Africa Knowledge Project

African Music Database provides all types of African music beginning with highlife, traditional cultural groups, popular music, hiplife, and jazz. The growing database will feature music from artists in Africa and the global diaspora. Each work is downloadable in MP3. 2006-present.  

Full record

Mar 13, 2012 e1001193
Alcohol Studies Database from Rutgers
    Alcohol Studies Database
This resource is freely accessible

Alcohol Studies Database from Rutgers

Contains over 80,000 citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and audio-visual materials. Also includes a small collection of educational and prevention materials, including audiovisuals, suitable for students and educators K-12, parents, community workers, and the general public. 1987-present

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
America's Historical Imprints from Newsbank-Readex
    Newsbank Readex
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

America's Historical Imprints from Newsbank-Readex

America's Historical Imprints is a digital collection containing virtually every book, pamphlet, and broadside published in America over a 200-year period. It is comprised of a vast range of publications, including advertisements, almanacs, bibles, broadsides, catalogs, charters and by-laws, contracts, cookbooks, elegies, eulogies, laws, maps, narratives, novels, operas, pamphlets, plays, poems, primers, sermons, songs, speeches, textbooks, tracts, travelogues, treaties, and more. Scanned pages available as JPEG, TIFF, and PDF.  

Full record

Jan 3, 2012 e1000847
American History in Video from Alexander Street Press
    Alexander Street Press videos
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia

American History in Video from Alexander Street Press

American History in Video provides streaming Flash videos covering American history, most with transcripts. It includes programs from the History Channel, A&E, and Biography Channel, plus documentaries, newsreels, and archival footage. Users who establish profiles can create playlists of videos and video clips with persistent URLs to include in course pages. Video coverage from 1492 to late 20th century.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000904
American Journeys
    American Journeys
This resource is freely accessible

American Journeys

American Journeys indexes the full text of more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later. Read the words of explorers, Indians, missionaries, traders and settlers as they lived through the founding moments of American history. Includes more than 150 rare books, original manuscripts, and classic travel narratives. 1000s-1840s

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
American Memory from the Library of Congress
    Library of Congress
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon Gold open access - publishing

American Memory from the Library of Congress

American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress’s digitized American historical materials, organized into more than 100 thematic collections. Original formats include manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music. Each collection provides explanatory features to make the materials easy to find, use, and understand. Collections may be browsed individually, searched individually (including full-text searching for many written items), or searched across multiple collections. 1400s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography from Greenwood
    Greenwood
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography from Greenwood

American Slavery contains both an overview of the collection of former slave narratives with related links (available without charge from the home page) and the collection of narratives themselves. Each narrative is delivered as a PDF as originally transcribed, with some interviews available as sound files. Searchable by name of narrator, interviewer, or master, the county or state where the narrator lived in slavery, the narrator's age or year of birth, or the location of the material in the print version (volume and page). 1920s-1940s (original interviews).  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000149
AnimalBase
    AnimalBase
This resource is freely accessible

AnimalBase

AnimalBase provides copyright-free open access to zoological works and provides manually verified lists of names of zoological genera and species. It includes digitized books and journal articles, most from prior to 1900, in their original language. Documents display as scanned images; many can be downloaded as PDFs. You can also search or browse by species, genus, or family. 350 BCE-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Aquaculture Compendia Online from CABI
    Centre for Agricultural Bioscience International
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Aquaculture Compendia Online from CABI

Aquaculture Compendia is an encyclopedic resource covering all aspects of aquaculture, including aquatic animal and plant production, natural resources and environment, biodiversity, trade, food security and safety, and social issues. It provides datasheets, book chapters, article citations, case studies, a glossary, geographic and country data, and pictures. Some full text in PDF. 1932-present. Limit to   simultaneous users.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000144
Art & Architecture Complete from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Art & Architecture Complete from EBSCOhost

Art & Architecture Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text from journals, magazines, trade publications, and books covering all aspects of art and architecture. It also includes a large image collection. 1901-present.   

Full record

Jan 24, 2012 e1001169
Artemis Literary Sources from Gale
    Gale Artemis Literary Sources
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Artemis Literary Sources from Gale

Artemis Literary Sources indexes citations and full text from several Gale literature databases. Advanced search options include interactive search term clustering and term frequency graphs.

Full record

Apr 15, 2014 e1001691
Artemis Primary Sources from Gale
    Gale Artemis Primary Sources
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Artemis Primary Sources from Gale

Artemis Primary Sources indexes citations and full text from Gale's Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century digitized collection, including books, manuscripts, newspapers, maps, and early photographs.   

Full record

Apr 15, 2014 e1001692
Associated Press Collections Online
    Associated Press
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Associated Press Collections Online

This database is on trial through May 5, 2014. The AP Collections Online provides full-text access to documents from the AP archive, including internal AP publications and policies, analysis of news stories, bureau records, biographical information about newsmakers and reporters, photos, and primary sources like correspondence, journals and diaries, and reporters' notebooks. 1846-2004. Please provide feedback on this database using this online survey..

Full record

Mar 13, 2014