Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Newspapers and magazines

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • Does not include articles from trade journals
  • Indexes and full-text
  • Popular magazine articles
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
ABI/INFORM from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ABI/INFORM from ProQuest

ABI/Inform indexes citations, abstracts, and full text news articles, market and SWOT analyses, industry reports, country reports, downloadable data sets, dissertations, business cases, working papers, annual reports from North American companies, and company profiles and histories. You can limit searches to peer-reviewed journals. Full text provided in HTML and PDF. 1971-present.  

 Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000291
AGRIS from FAO
    Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
This resource is freely accessibleContents of this resource available through Summon

AGRIS from FAO

AGRIS is a full-text repository and citation index created by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations to facilitate information exchange and to identify world literature dealing with all aspects of agriculture. It is particularly strong in literature from developing countries. AGRIS covers the wide range of subjects related to agriculture, including forestry, animal husbandry, aquatic sciences and fisheries, human nutrition, and extension. Its content includes unique grey literature such as unpublished scientific and technical reports, theses, conference papers, government publications, and more. Full text available in PDF and HTML. 1975-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000194
APS American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900 from ProQuest (APS)
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

APS - American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900 from ProQuest

American Periodicals Series Online contains over 1,100 full-text periodicals (in HTML and PDF) that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including scholarly, special interest, and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. Covers all academic disciplines including the sciences, though news and literary magazines are most prevalent. An excellent source of primary documents.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000296
Academic Search Complete from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Academic Search Complete from EBSCOhost

Academic Search Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, books, reports, and conference proceedings in all subject disciplines. Full text provided in PDF and HTML. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals. Searches can be limited to peer reviewed sources. Indexing 1887-present, most content 1980s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000630
Aerospace Database from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Aerospace Database from ProQuest

Aerospace Database indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference papers, magazines, books, patents, and technical reports on the engineering and physical science aspects of aeronautics and space. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1962-present.  

Full record

Jun 21, 2012
Africa Knowledge Project
    African Knowledge Project
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Africa Knowledge Project

The Africa Knowledge Project indexes the full text of articles, reports, dissertations, short stories and folktales, plus audio and music files on Africa and the African diaspora. 1968-present.   

Full record

Mar 13, 2012 e1001175
America's Historical Imprints from Newsbank-Readex
    Newsbank Readex
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

America's Historical Imprints from Newsbank-Readex

America's Historical Imprints is a digital collection containing virtually every book, pamphlet, and broadside published in America over a 200-year period. It is comprised of a vast range of publications, including advertisements, almanacs, bibles, broadsides, catalogs, charters and by-laws, contracts, cookbooks, elegies, eulogies, laws, maps, narratives, novels, operas, pamphlets, plays, poems, primers, sermons, songs, speeches, textbooks, tracts, travelogues, treaties, and more. Scanned pages available as JPEG, TIFF, and PDF.  

Full record

Jan 3, 2012 e1000847
America's Historical Newspapers from Newsbank Readex
    Newsbank Readex
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 from Newsbank Readex

Cover-to-cover reproductions of 1,000+ US newspapers in PDF. Restrict searches to dates/eras, article types (news & opinion, election returns, letters, poetry/songs, legislative, prices, advertisements, matrimony & death notices), region/state, and newspaper name. Includes the digital versions of the Early American Newspapers microforms collection, African American Newspapers 1827-1998, and a collection of Virginia newspapers (labeled Selected Historical Newspapers).  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000423
America: History and Life from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

America: History and Life from EBSCOhost

America: History and Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database includes citations and links to journal articles, dissertations, primary documents, and book and media reviews. Some content is available full-text (PDF and HTML). Allows limiting to peer reviewed articles, those with references, and to historical periods (date ranges). 1863-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000120
American Memory from the Library of Congress
    Library of Congress
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon Gold open access - publishing

American Memory from the Library of Congress

American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress’s digitized American historical materials, organized into more than 100 thematic collections. Original formats include manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music. Each collection provides explanatory features to make the materials easy to find, use, and understand. Collections may be browsed individually, searched individually (including full-text searching for many written items), or searched across multiple collections. 1400s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Artemis Primary Sources from Gale
    Gale Artemis Primary Sources
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Artemis Primary Sources from Gale

Artemis Primary Sources indexes citations and full text from Gale's Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century digitized collection, including books, manuscripts, newspapers, maps, and early photographs.   

Full record

Apr 15, 2014 e1001692
Associated Press Collections Online
    Associated Press
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Associated Press Collections Online

This database is on trial through May 5, 2014. The AP Collections Online provides full-text access to documents from the AP archive, including internal AP publications and policies, analysis of news stories, bureau records, biographical information about newsmakers and reporters, photos, and primary sources like correspondence, journals and diaries, and reporters' notebooks. 1846-2004. Please provide feedback on this database using this online survey..

Full record

Mar 13, 2014