Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Poetry and short stories

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • Indexes and full-text collections of short format literature
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
APS American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900 from ProQuest (APS)
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

APS - American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900 from ProQuest

American Periodicals Series Online contains over 1,100 full-text periodicals (in HTML and PDF) that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including scholarly, special interest, and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. Covers all academic disciplines including the sciences, though news and literary magazines are most prevalent. An excellent source of primary documents.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000296
ARTFL-FRANTEXT
    ARTFL
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

ARTFL-FRANTEXT

ARTFL-FRANTEXT provides HTML full-text works ranging from classic French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000221
Academic Search Complete from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Academic Search Complete from EBSCOhost

Academic Search Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, books, reports, and conference proceedings in all subject disciplines. Full text provided in PDF and HTML. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals. Searches can be limited to peer reviewed sources. Indexing 1887-present, most content 1980s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000630
Africa Knowledge Project
    African Knowledge Project
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Africa Knowledge Project

The Africa Knowledge Project indexes the full text of articles, reports, dissertations, short stories and folktales, plus audio and music files on Africa and the African diaspora. 1968-present.   

Full record

Mar 13, 2012 e1001175
African-American Poetry Database 1760-1975 from the Electronic Text Center at UVA
    VIRGO from UVA
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon

African-American Poetry Database 1760-1975 from the Electronic Text Center at UVA

A collection of over 2,500 full-text poems in HTML. It provides a survey of African American poetry from the earliest published African American poems to the works of Paul Laurence Dunbar. The bibliographic basis is William French's Afro-American Poetry and Drama 1760-1975.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000128
America's Historical Imprints from Newsbank-Readex
    Newsbank Readex
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

America's Historical Imprints from Newsbank-Readex

America's Historical Imprints is a digital collection containing virtually every book, pamphlet, and broadside published in America over a 200-year period. It is comprised of a vast range of publications, including advertisements, almanacs, bibles, broadsides, catalogs, charters and by-laws, contracts, cookbooks, elegies, eulogies, laws, maps, narratives, novels, operas, pamphlets, plays, poems, primers, sermons, songs, speeches, textbooks, tracts, travelogues, treaties, and more. Scanned pages available as JPEG, TIFF, and PDF.  

Full record

Jan 3, 2012 e1000847
America's Historical Newspapers from Newsbank Readex
    Newsbank Readex
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 from Newsbank Readex

Cover-to-cover reproductions of 1,000+ US newspapers in PDF. Restrict searches to dates/eras, article types (news & opinion, election returns, letters, poetry/songs, legislative, prices, advertisements, matrimony & death notices), region/state, and newspaper name. Includes the digital versions of the Early American Newspapers microforms collection, African American Newspapers 1827-1998, and a collection of Virginia newspapers (labeled Selected Historical Newspapers).  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000423
American Memory from the Library of Congress
    Library of Congress
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon Gold open access - publishing

American Memory from the Library of Congress

American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress’s digitized American historical materials, organized into more than 100 thematic collections. Original formats include manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music. Each collection provides explanatory features to make the materials easy to find, use, and understand. Collections may be browsed individually, searched individually (including full-text searching for many written items), or searched across multiple collections. 1400s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
American Poetry from the Electronic Text Center at UVA
    VIRGO from UVA
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon

American Poetry from the Electronic Text Center at UVA

American Poetry contains over 40,000 full-text poems by more than 200 poets, covering the Colonial period to the early twentieth century. Any accompanying text written by the poet and forming an integral part of the poem, such as dedications, notes, arguments and epigraphs, is also generally included. 1625-1900.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000131
Année philologique
    L'Annee philologique

L'Annee philologique

L'Année philologique (The Year in Philology) is a print index contains citations of all known scholarly work published in any language anywhere in the world in the areas of ancient Greek and Latin language and linguistics, Greek and Roman history, literature, philosophy, art, archaeology, religion, mythology, music, science, early Christian texts, numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy. Each entry offers a one- or two-sentence summary of the content. Includes coverage of conference proceedings and book reviews. Coverage begins in 200 BCE and ends roughly in 800 AD.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 b1276076
Artemis Literary Sources from Gale
    Gale Artemis Literary Sources
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Artemis Literary Sources from Gale

Artemis Literary Sources indexes citations and full text from several Gale literature databases. Advanced search options include interactive search term clustering and term frequency graphs.

Full record

Apr 15, 2014 e1001691
Kiswahili Story Database from Africa Knowledge Project
    African Knowledge Project
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Kiswahili Story Database from Africa Knowledge Project

Kiswahili Story Database provides full-text short stories, folktales, proverbs, and poems in Kiswahili (Swahili) in PDF. 2009-present.  

Full record

Mar 13, 2012 e1001192