Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Professional and trade literature

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • Literature for the profession
  • Gateways to trade journals
  • Indexes and full-text collections of articles from trade journals
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
ABI/INFORM from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ABI/INFORM from ProQuest

ABI/Inform indexes citations, abstracts, and full text news articles, market and SWOT analyses, industry reports, country reports, downloadable data sets, dissertations, business cases, working papers, annual reports from North American companies, and company profiles and histories. You can limit searches to peer-reviewed journals. Full text provided in HTML and PDF. 1971-present.  

 Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000291
AGRICOLA from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

AGRICOLA from ProQuest

AGRICOLA indexes citations for journal articles, books, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture, life sciences, nutrition, and environmental science. This database provides selective worldwide coverage of primary information sources in agriculture and related fields. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1970-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000007
AGRICOLA from USDA (NAL Catalog)
    National Agriculture Library
This resource is freely accessible

AGRICOLA from USDA (NAL Catalog)

Two databases are included: books, serials, audiovisuals, and other resources held by NAL and its cooperators, and a Journal Article Citation Index covering articles dated 1985-present. Covers all aspects of agriculture, life sciences, nutrition, and environmental science.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000172
AGRIS from FAO
    Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
This resource is freely accessibleContents of this resource available through Summon

AGRIS from FAO

AGRIS is a full-text repository and citation index created by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations to facilitate information exchange and to identify world literature dealing with all aspects of agriculture. It is particularly strong in literature from developing countries. AGRIS covers the wide range of subjects related to agriculture, including forestry, animal husbandry, aquatic sciences and fisheries, human nutrition, and extension. Its content includes unique grey literature such as unpublished scientific and technical reports, theses, conference papers, government publications, and more. Full text available in PDF and HTML. 1975-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000194
AIDS and Cancer Research Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

AIDS and Cancer Research Abstracts from ProQuest

AIDS and Cancer Research Abstracts indexes citations from the worldwide scientific literature as related to AIDS, immunology, virology, and cancer genetics. Information featured in the database concentrates on both basic science research and clinical applications. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1982-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000009
ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering from ProQuest

ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering is an abstracting and indexing database that covers agricultural, medical, design, and engineering publications. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. Sources include periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, patents, press releases, and books. 1981-present; abstracts available 1993-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 1000006
APS American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900 from ProQuest (APS)
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

APS - American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900 from ProQuest

American Periodicals Series Online contains over 1,100 full-text periodicals (in HTML and PDF) that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including scholarly, special interest, and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. Covers all academic disciplines including the sciences, though news and literary magazines are most prevalent. An excellent source of primary documents.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000296
ASABE Technical Library
    American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

ASABE Technical Library

The ASABE Technical Library contains the full text of conference proceedings, meeting papers, journals, standards, and technical papers of the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (PDF and HTML). Some books and textbooks are also available (each chapter is a separate PDF).  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000202
ASCE Civil Engineering Database
    ASCE Civil Engineering Database
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

ASCE Civil Engineering Database

The Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) indexes citations for all ASCE publications. The database covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers published by ASCE. Journal papers with abstracts go back to 1970. Non-abstract journal records go back to 1958. The book records are complete dating back to the early 1900s.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000747
ASFA 1: Biological Sciences & Living Resources from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ASFA 1: Biological Sciences & Living Resources from ProQuest

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources indexes citations and abstracts of basic and applied research on aquatic organisms. Sources include journals, books, conference papers, reports, patents, dissertations, and maps. Abstracts cover laboratory studies as well as research in the field. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1971-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000014
ASFA 2: Ocean Technology, Policy and Non-Living Resources from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ASFA 2: Ocean Technology, Policy & Non-Living Resources from ProQuest

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts 2: Ocean Technology, Policy and Non-Living Resources indexes citations and abstracts of oceanography, ocean engineering, social sciences including international policy, and economics topics like trade and commerce. Sources include journals, books, conference papers, reports, patents, dissertations, and maps. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1971-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000015
ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality from ProQuest

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality indexes citations and abstracts of research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers, and estuaries. Sources include journals, books, conference papers, reports, patents, dissertations, and maps. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1971-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000016
ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts from ProQuest

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts: Aquaculture Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts of all aspects of marine and freshwater aquaculture. Sources include journals, books, conference papers, reports, patents, dissertations, and maps. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1984-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000017
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts from ProQuest

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstract indexes citations and abstracts of all aspects of aquatic resources, including life sciences, economics, and social science/public policy aspects. Sources include journals, books, conference papers, reports, patents, dissertations, and maps. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1971-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000019
ASFA: Marine Biotechnology Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts from ProQuest

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts: Marine Biotechnology Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts of marine biotechnology, molecular biology and molecular genetics research. Sources include journals, books, conference papers, reports, patents, dissertations, and maps. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1989-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000018
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library
    American Society for Testing and Materials
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library

The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library provides full-text standards, technical engineering reports, journals, manuals, ebooks, and data series in HTML and PDF covering a wide range of engineering disciples: aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering. All current ASTM standards available online; historic standards available in print.1931-present.  

Full record

Feb 1, 2013 e1001511
Academic Search Complete from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Academic Search Complete from EBSCOhost

Academic Search Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, books, reports, and conference proceedings in all subject disciplines. Full text provided in PDF and HTML. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals. Searches can be limited to peer reviewed sources. Indexing 1887-present, most content 1980s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000630
Accounting News from LexisNexis
    LexisNexis
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

Accounting News from LexisNexis

Search multiple accounting publications, including Accounting Today, Accounting Technology, AICPA Accounting and Auditing Publications, AICPA CPA Letter, Controller Report, FRR SEC Financial Report Release, John Wiley Publications, Journal of Accountancy, Practical Accountant, Accountant's Handbook, Accountant's Liability, and Accounting Series Releases. All sources are available as HTML full text. 1986-present; most sources are 1996-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000260
Advertising Red Books
    Advertising Red Books
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Advertising Red Books

Advertising Red Books provides information and data on advertisers and advertising agencies including contact information, business profiles, and client lists. 1990s-present.  

Full record

Jan 31, 2012 e1001012
Aerospace Database from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Aerospace Database from ProQuest

Aerospace Database indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference papers, magazines, books, patents, and technical reports on the engineering and physical science aspects of aeronautics and space. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1962-present.  

Full record

Jun 21, 2012
AgEcon Search from the University of Minnesota
    AgEcon
This resource is freely accessible

AgEcon Search from the University of Minnesota

Open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in the broadly defined field of agricultural economics including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development. The majority of items in AgEcon Search are working papers, conference papers, and journal articles, although other types such as books chapters and government documents are included. Many sources are peer reviewed and content is delivered as PDFs. 1922-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
AgNIC
    Agriculture Information Network Center
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

AgNIC

AgNIC indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text from journals, reports, image collections, and more from many partner libraries and institutions.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Ageline from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

AgeLine from EBSCOhost

AgeLine focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging. It covers the literature of social gerontology and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy. This database indexes journals, books, book chapters, reports, dissertations, consumer guides, and educational videos. Some full text available as PDF and HTML. Publication coverage is from 1978-present, with selected coverage from 1966-1977.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000184
Agriculture, Life, and Natural Resource databases from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Agriculture, Life Science, and Natural Resource databases from ProQuest

This database indexes citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, conference papers, reference works, and dissertations (in full text PDFs) across multiple agricultural, biological, and natural resource databases on the ProQuest platform. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. Use the Databases link at the top of the screen to change which databases are searched.  

Full record

Jun 28, 2012 e1001243
Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP)
    Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP)

The Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP) is a subject index to citations of significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals. 1988-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Algology, Mycology & Protozoology Abstracts (Microbiology C) from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Algology, Mycology & Protozoology Abstracts (Microbiology C) from ProQuest

Algology, Mycology & Protozoology Abstracts indexes citations of journal articles and conference papers concerning algae, fungi, protozoa, or lichens as well as research in immunology, pathology, environmental research, toxicology, and other related fields. The scope of coverage includes reproduction, growth, life cycles, biochemistry, genetics, and infection and immunity in man, other animals, and plants. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1982-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000078
Alt HealthWatch from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Alt HealthWatch from EBSCOhost

Alt HealthWatch indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. Full-text articles available in PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. Indexing and abstracts 1984-present; full text 1990-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000634
Aluminum Industry Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links Contents of this resource available through Summon

Aluminum Industry Abstracts from ProQuest

Aluminium Industry Abstracts indexes citations of the world's technical literature on aluminum, production processes, products, applications, and business developments. Sources covered include periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1972-current.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000011
Animal Health and Production Compendium from CABI
    Centre for Agricultural Bioscience International
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Animal Health and Production Compendium from CABI

Animal Health and Production Compendium (AHPC) provides detailed information on agricultural and biological sciences. It contains datasheets (HTML and PDF) on livestock and the diseases that affect them, datasheets on food safety and quality, and datasheets on countries' statistical data on animal and economic production. It also provides PDF and HTML full-text documents on all aspects of food animals as well as an index to citations for agricultural publications and nearly 2,000 images. A geographic database contains country distribution data for diseases and breeds for use with GIS software. 1910s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1001008
Anthrosource
    AnthroSource
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

AnthroSource

A full-text portal and index to journals, newsletters, bulletins, and books from the American Anthropological Association (content is hosted in Wiley Online Library ). Articles available in PDF and HTML. 1880s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000297
Aqualine from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Aqualine from ProQuest

Aqualine indexes citations concerning all aspects of water resources, including business, environmental, scientific, and engineering aspects. Articles on these topics are drawn from journals, conference proceedings, scientific reports, books and theses. Each entry includes bibliographic citation, abstract, geographic index terms, and subject index terms. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1960-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000013
Art & Architecture Complete from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Art & Architecture Complete from EBSCOhost

Art & Architecture Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text from journals, magazines, trade publications, and books covering all aspects of art and architecture. It also includes a large image collection. 1901-present.   

Full record

Jan 24, 2012 e1001169
Astrophysics Data System Abstract Service from SAO/NASA
    SAO/NASA
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Astrophysics Data System Abstract Service from SAO/NASA

Search or browse full text and citations to articles, conference proceedings, reports, data catalogs, dissertations, and digitized books in astronomy and astrophysics. Includes scans of  historical astronomical publications. 1800s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Atmospheric Science from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Atmospheric Science from ProQuest

Atmospheric Science indexes citations, abstracts, and some full-text journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and technical reports on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1974-present.  

Full record

Nov 18, 2013 e1001664