Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Reviews and critiques

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • Not limited to reviews of books and performances
  • Scholarly and non-scholarly
  • Reviews and critiques of books, articles, performances, artistic creations
  • Product reviews
  • Reviews of companies and industries will be in the Reports, standards, and financials category
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
ABI/INFORM from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ABI/INFORM from ProQuest

ABI/Inform indexes citations, abstracts, and full text news articles, market and SWOT analyses, industry reports, country reports, downloadable data sets, dissertations, business cases, working papers, annual reports from North American companies, and company profiles and histories. You can limit searches to peer-reviewed journals. Full text provided in HTML and PDF. 1971-present.  

 Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000291
AIDS and Cancer Research Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

AIDS and Cancer Research Abstracts from ProQuest

AIDS and Cancer Research Abstracts indexes citations from the worldwide scientific literature as related to AIDS, immunology, virology, and cancer genetics. Information featured in the database concentrates on both basic science research and clinical applications. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1982-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000009
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) from ProQuest

ARTbibliographies Modern provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. Links to full text in Art Full Text and Art Retrospective from EBSCOhost when available. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1960s-present. Limited to   simultaneous users.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000176
ATLA Religion Database from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

ATLA Religion Database from EBSCOhost

ATLA Religion Database indexes citations, abstracts, and full text of articles from journals, essays, book reviews, and multimedia citations. Full text, when available, is in HTML and PDF. You can limit searches to peer-reviewed sources. 1949-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000168
Academic Search Complete from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Academic Search Complete from EBSCOhost

Academic Search Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, books, reports, and conference proceedings in all subject disciplines. Full text provided in PDF and HTML. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals. Searches can be limited to peer reviewed sources. Indexing 1887-present, most content 1980s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000630
Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP)
    Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP)

The Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP) is a subject index to citations of significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals. 1988-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Alt HealthWatch from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Alt HealthWatch from EBSCOhost

Alt HealthWatch indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. Full-text articles available in PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. Indexing and abstracts 1984-present; full text 1990-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000634
America's Historical Newspapers from Newsbank Readex
    Newsbank Readex
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 from Newsbank Readex

Cover-to-cover reproductions of 1,000+ US newspapers in PDF. Restrict searches to dates/eras, article types (news & opinion, election returns, letters, poetry/songs, legislative, prices, advertisements, matrimony & death notices), region/state, and newspaper name. Includes the digital versions of the Early American Newspapers microforms collection, African American Newspapers 1827-1998, and a collection of Virginia newspapers (labeled Selected Historical Newspapers).  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000423
America: History and Life from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

America: History and Life from EBSCOhost

America: History and Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database includes citations and links to journal articles, dissertations, primary documents, and book and media reviews. Some content is available full-text (PDF and HTML). Allows limiting to peer reviewed articles, those with references, and to historical periods (date ranges). 1863-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000120
American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies - ABSEES from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies - ABSEES from EBSCOhost

American Bibliography of Slavic & Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) indexes citations and full-text information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Subject areas covered include social sciences and education, humanities and the arts, and business and economics. Sources indexed include journals, books, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications published in the U.S. and Canada. 1989-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000242
Annual Reviews
    Annual Reviews
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews publishes comprehensive, critical, primary-literature reviews (HTML and PDF) for 40 scientific disciplines within the biological and medical, engineering and physical, and social sciences including economics. It is a useful starting point for upper level research because it synthesizes the vast amount of primary research literature and identifies the principal contributions in each field. 1939-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000125
Année philologique
    L'Annee philologique

L'Annee philologique

L'Année philologique (The Year in Philology) is a print index contains citations of all known scholarly work published in any language anywhere in the world in the areas of ancient Greek and Latin language and linguistics, Greek and Roman history, literature, philosophy, art, archaeology, religion, mythology, music, science, early Christian texts, numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy. Each entry offers a one- or two-sentence summary of the content. Includes coverage of conference proceedings and book reviews. Coverage begins in 200 BCE and ends roughly in 800 AD.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 b1276076
Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective from EBSCOhost

Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective indexes citations from English-language academic journals and specialized magazines. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1913-1983.

Full record

Dec 19, 2011 e1001013
Architecture, Art, and Design database from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Architecture, Art, & Design databases from ProQuest

This database indexes citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations (in full text PDFs) across multiple architecture, art, and design databases on the ProQuest platform. Use the Databases link at the top of the screen to change which databases are searched. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1973-present.  

Full record

Jun 28, 2012 e1001244
Art Full Text and Art Retrospective from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only mobile interface available database provides Get VText links

Art Full Text and Art Retrospective from EBSCOhost

Art Full Text indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals and other publications in art, architecture, design, and cinema. It also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Some full text available as HTML and PDF. Allows limiting to peer reviewed sources. Citations 1929-1984, abstracts from 1994, full text from 1997.   

Full record

Dec 19, 2011 e1000235
Artemis Literary Sources from Gale
    Gale Artemis Literary Sources
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Artemis Literary Sources from Gale

Artemis Literary Sources indexes citations and full text from several Gale literature databases. Advanced search options include interactive search term clustering and term frequency graphs.

Full record

Apr 15, 2014 e1001691
Arts & Humanities Citation Index from Thomson Reuters
    ISI Web of Science
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Arts & Humanities Citation Index from Thomson Web of Science

Arts & Humanities Citation Citation Index indexes citations and abstracts of journal literature, books, and conference papers in the arts and humanities. It also includes citations that refer to or review books, works of art, music scores, and performances. You can search cited references. 1975-present (older data available in print).  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000190
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals from EBSCOhost

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles in architecture and design from American and international scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, and publications of professional organizations. In addition, this database also provides citation records for architects' obituaries. Full text, when available, is in PDF and HTML. 1800s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000178