Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Countries and cultures

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • Predominantly full text narrative resources with some tabular/statistical information on countries and cultures
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Background Notes (U.S. State Department reports)
    United States Department of State
This resource is freely accessible

Background Notes (U.S. State Department reports)

Background Notes include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty. Background Notes are updated/revised by the Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the Bureau of Public Affairs as they are received from the Department's regional bureaus.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000708
Biafran War Database from Africa Knowledge Project
    African Knowledge Project
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Biafran War Database from Africa Knowledge Project

The Biafran War Database indexes full-text items from newspapers, photographs, interviews, archival materials, declassified intelligence reports, and theses and dissertations on the Nigerian conflict. Documents available in PDF and audio files as MP3. 1968-present.

Full record

Mar 13, 2012
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS online)
    Bibliography of Asian Studies
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS online)

BAS indexes citations from journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and reports on the social science and humanities aspects of East, Southeast, and South Asia. The "Find it @ your library" button connects to Get VText. 1971-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000503
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (C19) from Chadwyck-Healey
    C19 The nineteenth centure index
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (C19) from Chadwyck-Healey

Index of bibliographic records to the papers issued by the House of Commons in all formats, including: Bills, Royal and Select Commission Reports, Accounts and Papers, and Command Papers. As the working documents of government, the parliamentary papers encompass all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed. Copies of most of these documents are available in microcard format in the British Sessional Papers (1801-1976) series.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000431