Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and almanacs

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • Encyclopedias, dictionaries, glossaries, almanacs, and other reference sources used to give researchers a starting point when in an unfamiliar area
  • Includes general and subject-specific sources
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Bibliography of American Literaure from Chadwyck Healey
    Bibliographyt of American Literature
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Bibliography of American Literature from Chadwyck-Healey

The Bibliography of American Literature indexes citations of most literary works from American writers. 1700s-1930.

Full record

Aug 1, 2013
Bilingual Dictionaries from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia

Bilingual Dictionaries from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across 26 bilingual dictionaries for French, German, German, Irish, Italian, Latin, Spanish, and Welsh.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Biography Index Retrospective 1946-1983 from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Biography Index Retrospective 1946-1983 from EBSCOhost

Biography Index Retrospective indexes citations of biographical articles and book chapters, interviews and profiles, and obituaries covering over 300,000 people: public figures, writers, artists, sports figures, politicians, religious leaders, scientists, educators, military leaders, teachers, actors, and business people. 1946-1983.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1001014
Biological Sciences encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Biological Sciences encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across 13 subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 80,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Birds of North America - BNA
    Birds of North America (BNA)
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Birds of North America (BNA)

Birds of North America is a comprehensive reference covering the life histories of North American birds with detailed scientific information for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada. This is an updated online version of the print series of the same name. Each encyclopedic entry includes a list of references and may include images, audio, and video.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000451
Business Source Complete from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Business Source Complete from EBSCOhost

Business Source Complete is a citation, abstracts, and full-text database that indexes journals; books; financial data; reference works; conference proceedings; company, industry, investment, marketing, and country reports; SWOT analyses; and case studies. Full text is provides as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1886-present; most content is 1980s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000636