Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Freely accessible databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • This database has no access restrictions; it is freely accessible to anyone online.
  • Some databases provide free access to some content, but not all content; check the database description for details.
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Background Notes (U.S. State Department reports)
    United States Department of State
This resource is freely accessible

Background Notes (U.S. State Department reports)

Background Notes include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty. Background Notes are updated/revised by the Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the Bureau of Public Affairs as they are received from the Department's regional bureaus.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000708
Bibliography of the History of Art / International Bibliography of Art / Repertoire de la Litterature de l'Art from Getty
    Getty
This resource is freely accessible

Bibliography of the History of Art from Getty

Includes two databases: BHA (Bibliography on the History of Art) and RILA (Répertoire de la litterature de l'art). This database indexes citations from journal articles, books, conference papers, exhibition catalogs, and exhibition reviews. 1975-2007.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000179
BioMed Central
    BioMedCentral
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon Gold open access - publishing

BioMed Central

BioMed Central is an open access publisher of science, technology, and medicine journals. All content is peer reviewed and is available as HTML and PDF. While browsing content is free, searching content requires registration. Our institutional membership provides authors a 15% discount on article processing charges.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000302
Biodiversity Heritage Library
    Biodiversity Heritage Library
This resource is freely accessible

Biodiversity Heritage Library

BHL contains scanned, historic, biological literature from major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions: books, journals, and more. Content can be downloaded as PDF, ASCII, or just the images contained within the object. 1480-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Biosystems Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

Biosystems Database from NLM

The BioSystems Database provides data and reports on biological pathways. A biosystem, or biological system, is a group of molecules that interact in a biological system. One type of biosystem is a biological pathway, which can consist of interacting genes, proteins, and small molecules. Another type of biosystem is a disease, which can involve components such as genes, biomarkers, and drugs.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Entrez databases from NLM
    Entrez databases from NLM
This resource is freely accessible

Entrez from the NLM

Search across multiple Entrez-hosted databases from the National Library of Medicine. Entrez is NCBI’s primary text search and retrieval system that integrates the PubMed database of biomedical literature with 39 other literature and molecular databases including DNA and protein sequence, structure, gene, genome, genetic variation and gene expression.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
PubMed/MEDLINE from the NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

PubMed/MEDLINE from the NLM

PubMed indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books in the life sciences, including the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Advanced search limits include types of articles (such as clinical trial, case reports, or review), human or animal studies, and age of subjects. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. 1947-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000266