Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Countries and cultures

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • Predominantly full text narrative resources with some tabular/statistical information on countries and cultures
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
CARIS from FAO
    Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
This resource is freely accessible

CARIS from FAO

Created to identify and facilitate the exchange of information about current agricultural research projects being carried out in developing countries, including natural resources, nutrition, and agricultural economics. Basic information about each project is presented. 1975-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000154
CIA World Fact Book
    Central Intelligence Agency
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

CIA World Fact Book

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. The Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as flags of the world, a physical map of the world, a political map of the world, and a standard time zones of the world map.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online
    Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon

CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals, and policy briefs. Most full-text content is presented as HTMl web pages. 1991-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000130
Censtats from the US Census
    Censtats from the US Census
This resource is freely accessible

Censtats from the US Census

Statistics, demographic information and other data for the US from several Census Bureau databases. Includes county business patterns, construction and building permits, census tracts, occupation data, international trade data and more. 1977-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System from the National Parks Service
    National Park Service
This resource is freely accessible

Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System from the National Parks Service

Contains basic facts about servicemen who served on both sides of the Civil War. Facts are from records that are indexes of other documents about Union and Confederate Civil War soldiers maintained by the National Archives and Records Administration. Also includes histories of regiments in both the Union and Confederate Armies and descriptions of 384 significant battles of the war. Currently contains over 6 million soldier names from 44 states and territories.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Classics encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Classics encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across six subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 25,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Country Profiles and Mapping Information System from FAO
    Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
This resource is freely accessible

Country Profiles and Mapping Information System from FAO

Country Profiles and Mapping Information System provides country-level reports and statistical data in FAO "fields of expertise" (namely sustainable development, economic situation, agriculture/ forestry/ fishery sectors, technical cooperation) and "priority areas" (biodiversity, biosecurity, biotechnology, climate change, ecosystem management, emergency operations, ethics, food for cities, gender, global studies, information management, integrated production systems, organic farming, spatial information, sustainable livelihoods, trade agreements).

Full record

Sep 13, 2010